Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Parametric catalan tile vault

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 3, 2020
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Parametric catalan tile vault

    Greetings,

    I would like to learn how i can model the Catalan tile vault as shown in the attachment in Revit. do I need to have Dynamo installed in order to do this? If there are any tutorials out there on this, please direct me to them.

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	catalan vault model in revit.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	42.0 KB 
ID:	38258  

  2.    #2
    Member Geert's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8, 2011
    Location
    Les Vigneaux, Hautes Alpes, France
    Posts
    166
    Current Local Time
    03:13 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Totally doable
    short version:
    Massing and site > in place mass > divided surface - half a step > assign curtain panel by pattern
    The old buildz blogg has tons of info on divided surfaces, the quircky moddeler, and adaptive components.
    Keeping the tiles flat is the mayor challenge

    Good luck
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Enscape_2020-02-03-15-49-54 (Medium).png 
Views:	43 
Size:	424.2 KB 
ID:	38259

  3.    #3
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Current Local Time
    09:13 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by nkosana View Post
    ...do I need to have Dynamo installed in order to do this? ...
    No, you don't. That idea has become very common.

  4.    #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 3, 2020
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Geert View Post
    Totally doable
    short version:
    Massing and site > in place mass > divided surface - half a step > assign curtain panel by pattern
    The old buildz blogg has tons of info on divided surfaces, the quircky moddeler, and adaptive components.
    Keeping the tiles flat is the mayor challenge

    Good luck
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Enscape_2020-02-03-15-49-54 (Medium).png 
Views:	43 
Size:	424.2 KB 
ID:	38259

    Thank you for the advice. I'll try this approach.

  5.    #5
    Autodesk JeffH's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    The Ivory Tower (Manchester NH)
    Posts
    797
    Current Local Time
    09:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina View Post
    No, you don't. That idea has become very common.
    Everything looks like a nail when you have Dynamo acting as the "hammer". And the hammer is the only tool the carpenter can work with.

  6.    #6
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Current Local Time
    09:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by JeffH View Post
    Everything looks like a nail when you have Dynamo acting as the "hammer". And the hammer is the only tool the carpenter can work with.
    Exactly. That is my impression.

  7.    #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,797
    Current Local Time
    08:13 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Some people do the same things with Adaptive Components, too. LMAO

  8.    #8
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,739
    Current Local Time
    07:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I'd rather make a GM and instance it with Dynamo than use ACs and Massing.

  9.    #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 3, 2020
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    04:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by GMcDowellJr View Post
    I'd rather make a GM and instance it with Dynamo than use ACs and Massing.
    Hello. I'm rather new to Revit and haven't got all the abbreviations down. What does GM and AC stand for?

  10.    #10
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,550
    Current Local Time
    06:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by nkosana View Post
    Hello. I'm rather new to Revit and haven't got all the abbreviations down. What does GM and AC stand for?
    GM = Generic Models
    AC = Adaptive Components

Similar Threads

  1. EDMS (Vault/Buzzsaw)
    By Cyus in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 21st, 2013, 08:48 AM
  2. Is Revit a Parametric Designing software Or simply a Parametric Drawing one?
    By smshiran in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 18th, 2012, 11:48 AM
  3. Elipsoid Ceiling Vault
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 14th, 2012, 02:34 PM
  4. Autodesk Vault
    By C Daniel in forum Worksharing, Revit Server & C4R
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 24th, 2011, 10:56 PM
  5. Barrel Vault Roof
    By shiner79 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 17th, 2011, 11:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •