Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Plan cut of Generic family

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2019
    Posts
    35
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Plan cut of Generic family

    I've made a brick lattice facade family using a generic model family template. In plan, the elements in the family do not cut with heavy lines. How can I make it do so?

  2. #2
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Modify object styles or VG for cut lines

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2019
    Posts
    35
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Doesn't seem to work for some reason. I have highlighted the wedge-shaped brick pieces which should be cut in heavy lines.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	221.2 KB 
ID:	38279

  4. #4
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Maybe lineweight of 2 isn't thick enough.
    Also check you set the geometry to the correct sub category.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2019
    Posts
    35
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I just added a subcategory to Generic Model called "Brickwork" and gave it thickness of 4 for cuts. I get this (below). A = the brick family. B = system wall family (including "air" as the last layer, for the cavity).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan1.JPG 
Views:	16 
Size:	65.3 KB 
ID:	38280
    It's strange the way the darker cut line scribes around the wedge bricks...and also picks up their nose on the other side (highlighted in yellow).

  6. #6
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The screen shot you added in post #3 is from a project environment. These settings will override family object styles. Change the project settings to match the family setings and you'll see the 4 lineweight.

    It does look weird though with only the 4 lineweight cutting on the outer edges.
    Did you join geometry with non-glass subcategory?
    Are you sure your section/ elevation is actually cutting through the internal geometry edges? If there is gaps between the blocks maybe you're actually seeing projection lines from a perpendicular face? You could test that by upping projection lineweights.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2019
    Posts
    35
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    This is with settings checked in the project environment:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan2.JPG 
Views:	12 
Size:	321.4 KB 
ID:	38281
    A = an opening where there is to be no brick lattice in the facade (a "window). B = normal condition. I don't understand why the yellow parts are not 4.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Family.JPG 
Views:	8 
Size:	85.6 KB 
ID:	38282
    This is the family. I varied the cut level in view range in the project environment to make sure I was not cutting at C.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan3.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	537.3 KB 
ID:	38283
    If I override the projection lines to 4, I get this.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2019
    Posts
    35
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan4.JPG 
Views:	18 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	38284
    If I move 3 instances out of the way...I get a correctly shown instance under...?! Is this a view range thing?

  9. #9
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    05:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Boundary View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot - Plan4.JPG 
Views:	18 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	38284
    If I move 3 instances out of the way...I get a correctly shown instance under...?! Is this a view range thing?
    It's the cut plane of the view

Similar Threads

  1. Nesting Generic Annotation Family into Face Based Light Fixture Family
    By dmudd in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 5th, 2019, 10:44 PM
  2. Adding generic annotation label to Generic model family
    By Grumple in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 26th, 2019, 08:33 AM
  3. Generic Model canopy showing completely in plan view instead of being cut
    By ryntau in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: August 19th, 2015, 09:03 PM
  4. Why won't this Generic Model Adaptive family create form in a Mass Family?
    By viratmanchanda in forum Architecture - Conceptual Massing and Adaptive Components
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 28th, 2014, 02:22 PM
  5. Generic line based family - Show only generic part in 3D-view
    By jkp4100 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 5th, 2014, 02:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •