Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Revit 3D model- precast walls

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 10, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Revit 3D model- precast walls

    Hello,
    I have question about creating 3D model in Revit Structure based on precast construction. The main parts of the model are walls. Walls have three layers: concrete- thermal insulation- elevation. Between conection of each wall is 1cm empty space. As you can see on including picture (part of a building) each wall have very specyfic shape and sometimes conection between each other. The elevation part of walls have different size in each wall (there is different distance between elevation and concrete part- both vertica and horizontal). Both concrete and elevation have reinforcement. Do you think that it is possible to make 3D structure model based on this construction and than reinforce it or even if not, is it possible to make just 2D construction drawing from this created model? And if it is possible how to start modeling? Just by using basic tools, or families/ Dynamo?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Walls.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	38309

  2.    #2
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 26, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    241
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I always draw walls as seperate walls.
    So concrete would be a wall, and isolation would be a different wall.
    If you do it that way it is easy to make your prefab concrete elements, and put rebar in them later.

  3.    #3
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,511
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcel Jansen View Post
    I always draw walls as seperate walls.
    So concrete would be a wall, and isolation would be a different wall.
    If you do it that way it is easy to make your prefab concrete elements, and put rebar in them later.
    Yep me too. It does have a few more benefits too, like being able to easily have different wall heights without the need to mess with that offset thingy (or whatever it is called) and easier to exchange them when you get a model from the structural guys too.

  4.    #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 10, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So you mean that the easiest way is to create building model by using 3 different parts: inside wall 1: concrete, in the middle wall 2: isolation and outside wall 3: elevation. And all that parts will be separated from each other? Am I right?

  5.    #5
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 26, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    241
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes yes

  6.    #6
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,511
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It sounds like more work, but in the end it is much easier do split them all up. Another benefit is that calculations are a bit more accurate as well.
    Revit calculates on the baseline of the wall for m2 or m3 and with the wall separated into 3 (or more) layer the numbers become better too.

  7.    #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 10, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ok. Thank you very much.
    I have one more question about this specific precast walls shape and join between each other (picture). I want to make model with possibility of reinforcing this shape of walls in next step. Do you know is it possible?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Walls1.png 
Views:	16 
Size:	5.4 KB 
ID:	38315

  8.    #8
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,511
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If it is that detailed I would probably go with srutuctural framing. Much easier to reuse types and make schedules. And you don't have the issue of walls cleaning up when you don't want to.

  9.    #9
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 26, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    241
    Current Local Time
    02:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Make sure you click the ends of the wall and set them do ''disallow join'' on both sides. After that just edit the wall just the way they will make it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	R1.PNG 
Views:	9 
Size:	15.6 KB 
ID:	38317

    After you made these you can make assemblies of it, and make shopdrawings.

    If you will need to make these a lot of times you can also buy some plugin from AGACAD for prefab concrete.
    http://www.aga-cad.com/products/pack...ecast-concrete
    Last edited by Marcel Jansen; February 11th, 2020 at 03:23 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Precast
    By m_qbp in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 18th, 2020, 10:16 AM
  2. Anyone using the stair tool for precast concrete stairs or generic model families?
    By Andrew P in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2015, 02:23 PM
  3. Linked Arch Revit Model - View Another Floors Walls
    By MartinGT in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 30th, 2014, 01:14 PM
  4. Precast Floor problems when trimming shape of precast
    By ryntau in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 9th, 2013, 01:01 PM
  5. Analytical model and slanted walls
    By jbenoit44 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 10th, 2012, 09:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •