Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Roof Cut Issue When Joining

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    243
    Current Local Time
    11:53 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Roof Cut Issue When Joining

    I am joining two roofs using the Modify - Join/Unjoin roof tool. When I join them, I need the portion that is underneath the join to be cut out of it. I cannot do a roof opening or it undoes the join. Please see attached image. How do I cut this portion out? It's causing visibility issues with my RCP so I need it to be gone.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Roof Cut Issue.PNG 
Views:	30 
Size:	90.5 KB 
ID:	38374  
    Last edited by katewood1989; February 17th, 2020 at 05:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Member d.stairmand's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 24, 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    387
    Current Local Time
    03:53 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If the Roof Dormer Opening Tool doesn't work, the only other way to do it is old school & adjust the Roof Outline to match the Roof Joint.

  3. #3
    Senior Member PatrickGSR94's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2017
    Location
    Hernando, MS
    Posts
    587
    Current Local Time
    10:53 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The Dormer Opening tool is made to do what you need. You can only select walls or joined roofs to create the opening edges, so you should be able to do that with your joined roof you have shown there.

    I will typically create a Dormer Opening using a roof plan set to wire frame, then I pick the inner/lower edges of the joined roof. That way, the main roof surface that the second roof is attached to will be maintained.
    Last edited by PatrickGSR94; February 19th, 2020 at 04:06 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    85
    Current Local Time
    05:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    you could make both those roofs in 1 sketch, the roof fuction is actually quite good, if you know how it works.
    Otherwise, you could edit the roof profile, this is also fairly easy.
    And if that does not work, use a in place void, or one of the other tools for making holes in elements.

Similar Threads

  1. Roof framing plan - roof visibility issue
    By sknsnw9 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 16th, 2015, 03:15 PM
  2. Joining roof/floor & structural framing
    By Cyus in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 1st, 2015, 10:55 AM
  3. Roof Help - Multiple Roofs Joining
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 4th, 2015, 01:45 PM
  4. Joining a roof and a wall
    By Lox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 14th, 2014, 10:11 PM
  5. Wall joining issue
    By Lox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 30th, 2013, 09:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •