Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to break "bad" family modeling behaviors

Current Local Time
    11:43 AM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Trying to break "bad" family modeling behaviors

I am a BIM manager and I've been ruminating on something for a while. I have a user that just loves to make his own family types. Especially doors, windows and stairs. The stairs part we can address later... but there's something about his workflow that just bothers me to no end, but I struggle to come up with a meaningful "why" to address this.

His process: this user makes a lot of doors and windows families that start as generic models then become doors/windows. He says this helps me get around the issue with placing doors or windows on infill elements in Revit. I agree that placing doors and windows in infills in revit can be frustrating at times, but there are workarounds.

Either way, he creates a generic model, converts it to a door or window so it will schedule then precedes to model it. My only real push back I have is that his modeling techniques may not be in alignment with our firms "standards". We do create family templates for their use and have supporting documents for their guidelines.

After thinking about this for a long time I just cannot figure out a good strong "why" to support my argument that he should be modeling doors as doors and windows as windows. I cannot find any good articles on why one shouldn't do this, so if this exists already, thanks in advance for any direction.

Cheers-

Current Local Time
    01:43 PM

Quote Originally Posted by MPS_DWarren View Post
    ...I have a user that just loves to make his own family types. Especially doors, windows and stairs...
    Try with users that don't like or don't want to make their own families is far worst, If you have an user that like to do his families you need to encourage him to improve his method and yours!