Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Using assemblies to create kitchen types

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    160
    Current Local Time
    08:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Using assemblies to create kitchen types

    We are looking into using assemblies to create kitchen types in a large scale residential project. It seems like the advantages are that we can easily keep track of kitchen types and update particularly when the kitchen type is used across multiple apartment types.

    Are there any major disadvatages to this as i've not really used assemblies before

  2.    #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,878
    Current Local Time
    03:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by robp View Post
    We are looking into using assemblies to create kitchen types in a large scale residential project. It seems like the advantages are that we can easily keep track of kitchen types and update particularly when the kitchen type is used across multiple apartment types.

    Are there any major disadvatages to this as i've not really used assemblies before
    Yes. When you copy the Assembly, it will create a new Assembly.

    Hence Groups.

  3.    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    160
    Current Local Time
    08:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Aaron, will this "bloat" the model in the way model-in-place does or is it simply the fact you get thousands of assemblies within your browser?

  4.    #4
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,878
    Current Local Time
    03:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What im saying is when you go to update one Kitchen (which will be KitchenAssembly001) thats used in multiple apartments, it wont update in the other apartments. Because when you copy 001 it will become 002.

    So if your goal is to have them all update the same... Groups.

    Unless they have fundamentally changed the way Assemblies worked recently, which i doubt.

  5.    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    September 19, 2017
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    82
    Current Local Time
    01:38 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Assemblies will inherit the type from which they are copied (at least in 2017 and beyond). So you can copy around KitchenAssembly001 without creating a new type. If you change anything in instance assembly, that one instance becomes a new assembly type (KitchenAssembly002).

    Regardless, Aaron is right that if your goal is to have multiple of the same thing, that all update at the same time with any change made to one, use a group. Editing assemblies isn't a very fluid process either. In fact, there are several things that assemblies don't play nice with, like Design Options. It's a shame you can't create views from a group like you can from an assembly.

  6.    #6
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,878
    Current Local Time
    03:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Roffe View Post
    Assemblies will inherit the type from which they are copied (at least in 2017 and beyond). So you can copy around KitchenAssembly001 without creating a new type. If you change anything in instance assembly, that one instance becomes a new assembly type (KitchenAssembly002).

    Regardless, Aaron is right that if your goal is to have multiple of the same thing, that all update at the same time with any change made to one, use a group. Editing assemblies isn't a very fluid process either. In fact, there are several things that assemblies don't play nice with, like Design Options. It's a shame you can't create views from a group like you can from an assembly.
    Thanks for the correction. I couldnt remember exactly where in the process it happened, i just remembered it duplicating them. So its not when you copy it, its when you edit one, LOL. Yeah. Man, Assemblies could have been so much more. What a shame.

  7.    #7
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    160
    Current Local Time
    08:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Roffe View Post
    Assemblies will inherit the type from which they are copied (at least in 2017 and beyond). So you can copy around KitchenAssembly001 without creating a new type. If you change anything in instance assembly, that one instance becomes a new assembly type (KitchenAssembly002).
    That doesnt seem such a problem as we simply swap them out and rename as i believe that once an assembly doesnt appear in the project it simply disappears from the list anyway.

    I've done an analysis and the concept team who had said there were only 7 kitchen types have basically lied and there is about 30 and there are only a couple of repeating types!!! I think we might just build the kitchens in the apartment groups and be done with it
    Last edited by robp; March 11th, 2020 at 09:52 AM.

  8.    #8
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,878
    Current Local Time
    03:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If they follow the rules for groups, Groups in Groups work just fine. Im on a project right now with tons of groups in groups, and nary a single problem. My clients do it with kitchens and bathrooms all the time.

  9.    #9
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,353
    Current Local Time
    04:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    If they follow the rules for groups
    That is a big if some days

  10.    #10
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,878
    Current Local Time
    03:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Sure, it is!

    But, its still a solution that works 100%.

    Working with only one layer or level of Groups is fine, too, but people act like they CANT do Groups in Groups, because some bad juju or the Revit boogyman will come out to get them. It doesnt work, when people do things they shouldnt do. If there was a fundamental brokeassery with them, it wouldnt work for any of us, lol.

Similar Threads

  1. Possible to Create A Typ Kitchen Family Using Only 2D Linework?
    By tds1spydog in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 14th, 2018, 03:15 PM
  2. How do you create custom Line Types
    By Tiffanydh8 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 18th, 2017, 02:35 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 30th, 2015, 01:16 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 17th, 2013, 12:45 AM
  5. Create Similar followed by changing types
    By gaby424 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 17th, 2011, 07:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •