Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 66

Thread: So...Any Tips or Plans for working from Home?

  1. #21
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,618
    Current Local Time
    08:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So, I heard something scary today, workshared Revit over VPN over Wifi. What could possibly go wrong !!

  2. #22
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    782
    Current Local Time
    12:36 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Were you talking to some of the people at my office? They're not convinced VPNs are bad

  3. #23
    Member Bjorn_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 8, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    381
    Current Local Time
    08:36 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    One way trip to:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	punch.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	8.9 KB 
ID:	38564

  4. #24
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    705
    Current Local Time
    11:36 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    So, I heard something scary today, workshared Revit over VPN over Wifi. What could possibly go wrong !!
    Corrupt files are in your future...

  5. #25
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    248
    Current Local Time
    06:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you give all the people op the project a specific slot of time (5 mins) to sync it can work.
    But it is very tricky and you will get your error at some time.

  6. #26
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,618
    Current Local Time
    08:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Even though I warned them I did work on a workshared project over VPN, but just by myself. It was reasonably fast and no trouble YET.
    And we got word back from IT and they will NOT do BIM360 because they are afraid of stuff in the cloud in the US (I guess) for some reason.
    Well, all I know is that I will still send them an invoice even if I can not do any work because of a broken project.

  7. #27
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,036
    Current Local Time
    01:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcel Jansen View Post
    If you give all the people op the project a specific slot of time (5 mins) to sync it can work.
    But it is very tricky and you will get your error at some time.
    You can also be the only person working in the file, and still corrupt it. Has little to do with multiple people. VPN and internet is not the same as being on a LAN with the files you are interacting with.

  8. #28
    Member tidalwave1's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    140
    Current Local Time
    11:36 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I need to re-read this thread as the VPN/Remote Desktop is what our IT is looking at I believe...

  9. #29
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,036
    Current Local Time
    01:36 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    VPN/RDP is fine.

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    March 27, 2014
    Posts
    128
    Current Local Time
    07:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Frame is basically the same as vmware VDI, except you are running it through a browser, and they are hosting the instances for you, so you dont buy it (you rent/lease it). That also means when the internet goes out, so does your connection to Frame.

    But yes: We have used it. AU Labs were on Frame, and Autodesk Beta is on Frame as well. I (personally) would rather an on-prem solution, but thats basically just user preference. The gear they use at Frame is very similar, to what other vendors sell.
    Thanks. Good to read it's a tested product that works. I'm guessing the hardware required to do it in house (not to mention the setting up) would be quite costly. In saying that, at what point do you decide as a firm on renting vs leasing. I'm not sure of figures in our office (300 staff) but I would guess 30-40% are Revit users.

    ---EDIT---

    VPN was/is also considered, however for now it was quicker to get everyone setup with Chrome RDP. I've made IT aware of the VPN issue's, I'm not sure if some are using it or now (they probably are).
    Last edited by Jozi; March 17th, 2020 at 07:42 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 4th, 2018, 11:15 AM
  2. Working with Tags, Lighting Plans, and Power Plans
    By mkisno4 in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 29th, 2016, 05:26 PM
  3. Linked models and working from home
    By JamesLawrence in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 9th, 2014, 03:03 PM
  4. users working from home with different local files
    By jh75 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 8th, 2013, 01:59 PM
  5. Revit OpEd: Working from Home
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 19th, 2012, 03:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •