Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Modeling A Dapped End Beam

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 6, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    07:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Modeling A Dapped End Beam

    Halo, my name is Haru,
    I'm having a hard time trying to modeling (Creating a family) of a dapped end beam

    Would you like to give some advise how to do that?

    i'm inserting a few files needed, thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	End Beam.JPG 
Views:	16 
Size:	17.3 KB 
ID:	38543   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Section.JPG 
Views:	14 
Size:	36.5 KB 
ID:	38544   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Inkedklasifikasi-dan-kelas-jembatan_LI.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	997.7 KB 
ID:	38545   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0343.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	353.2 KB 
ID:	38546  

  2.    #2
    Member d.stairmand's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 24, 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    388
    Current Local Time
    10:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What specifically problem are you running into?

    If I was to make this up, & the beam would be 1 Size, I would start with a Similar Rectangular Beam Family, Save As, Edit the Profile of the Beam to get the Thin "I" Shape, then using an Extrusion make up the thicker "I" Shape at each end.

    If it was to have multiple sizes I would start with a Similar Rectangular Beam Family, Save As, Add in a lot of reference planes constraining the shape, Edit the Profile of the Beam to get the Thin "I" Shape locking onto the RP's, then using an Extrusion make up the thicker "I" Shape at each end, locking onto the RP's.

    Note that the Cut-out at each end can be achieved in the Project Environment using the Opening by Face Tool.
    Last edited by d.stairmand; March 14th, 2020 at 06:57 AM.

  3.    #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 6, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    07:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hai, thank you for the answer, much appreciated,
    apparently the problem was solved when i keep tweaking swept blend to fix certain geometry (as i mentioned in 3rd picture)

    now the new problem is appear, my beam won't flex right (in project browser) like i want when i tried to input certain random beam length other than the default length written when i created the family. It behaves strange in project browser but seems working fine in family

    i'm new into revit anyway and sorry for my poor english

    thank you
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4.    #4
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    216
    Current Local Time
    04:53 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Haru,

    I did not find any problems with your beam, it flexes without errors.

Similar Threads

  1. Modeling Beam Camber
    By cbaze in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2016, 03:04 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 3rd, 2015, 05:15 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 15th, 2014, 03:45 AM
  4. BIM & Beam: Techniques for Modeling Curved Framing
    By BIM & Beam in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 12th, 2013, 07:45 PM
  5. BIM & Beam: Laser technology & 3D modeling using Revit
    By BIM & Beam in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 26th, 2012, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •