Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: BIM 360 Design - file replacement best practice

  1.    #1
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    448
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    BIM 360 Design - file replacement best practice

    I understand that in BIM 360 Design we can’t just copy in a new model to replace an existing model (eg. because we had a major design change) like we can on a local server, because the file history is constantly being tracked. Our consistent project file name is important.

    Just last week on another project we had two files running in parallel (x.rvt and x-OptionB.rvt) and it was decided to move forward with the Option B file: We archived them both and recreated a new central file from x-OptionB.rvt now named x.rvt. Simple.

    What is the best practice process for achieving the same result inside the BIM 360 Design environment?

    Thanking you in advance.
    Last edited by anthonyB; March 26th, 2020 at 03:11 AM.

  2.    #2
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Manage links > reload from...

    Exactly the same as usual.

  3.    #3
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    448
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks for the reply.

    My usual is that I don't have to reload any links in other project files because the end result is that I have not changed my model's file name. It is still named x.rvt, so all the links still work.

    Are you saying that I basically do have to retire the old file and must use reload from to get the new one into all other files in the project?

    If so, what to you do with your naming? Do you rename the original to be x-old.rvt and save the new one as x.rvt? Or do you just make the new file x2.rvt?

    Thanking you.

    Anthony

  4.    #4
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,889
    Current Local Time
    06:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    LOL... In BIM360 Design, you can just go in through the webpage, and right click > Rename the file. Ive even done it WHILE i was inside the model at my desk, and it doesnt care. It works itself out, because the name isnt really the name, so it doesnt care.

    And before anyone gets their undies in a bunch: Im laughing at how i expected it to be massively complicated in BIM360, and right click Rename actually works. Im not laughing at ANYONE in the thread. So calm down.

  5.    #5
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    LOL... In BIM360 Design, you can just go in through the webpage, and right click > Rename the file. Ive even done it WHILE i was inside the model at my desk, and it doesnt care. It works itself out, because the name isnt really the name, so it doesnt care.

    And before anyone gets their undies in a bunch: Im laughing at how i expected it to be massively complicated in BIM360, and right click Rename actually works. Im not laughing at ANYONE in the thread. So calm down.

    Yeah, it's crazy, but why would you?

  6.    #6
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,889
    Current Local Time
    06:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Why would I rename a file?

    In the few cases I've done it, it was because someone named something incorrectly and it needed to be corrected, or in another case it was because there was a bim360 outage, so somebody kept working locally so that we didn't lose ground. Then they re-uploaded the new model with a different name, and we had to get rid of the old one and change the new one's name.

    My naming standard also involves having the version number at the end of the file name, so when I use the BIM 360 automatic updater, I had to rename all of the models in the project.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  7.    #7
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    448
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    OK. This is what I am seeking to understand.
    So generally you don't rename files up there.
    Instead you upload a new document and call it x[b].rvt or similar, and then visit every other file in the project and do a Reload From. Correct?

  8.    #8
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Why would I rename a file?

    In the few cases I've done it, it was because someone named something incorrectly and it needed to be corrected, or in another case it was because there was a bim360 outage, so somebody kept working locally so that we didn't lose ground. Then they re-uploaded the new model with a different name, and we had to get rid of the old one and change the new one's name.

    My naming standard also involves having the version number at the end of the file name, so when I use the BIM 360 automatic updater, I had to rename all of the models in the project.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
    I wasn't saying you, as in "you" personally. What you described would be a dumb a thing to do and you know I'm not one of your haters. IE just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

    Quote Originally Posted by anthonyB View Post
    OK. This is what I am seeking to understand.
    So generally you don't rename files up there.
    Instead you upload a new document and call it x[b].rvt or similar, and then visit every other file in the project and do a Reload From. Correct?
    I always use the revision in the file name and it also makes it more salient for when we need to upload to Aconex (or whatever the project uses).
    Our consultant models must also use a revision suffix (read the BEP), so 'reload from' is just a simple thing. Same as it's always been, even before C4R/BIM360.

  9.    #9
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18, 2014
    Posts
    126
    Current Local Time
    06:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can you give an example of your revision suffix?

  10.    #10
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,765
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cpercer View Post
    Can you give an example of your revision suffix?
    Before construction docs...file name_[A] alphabetical
    During construction docs...file name_[1] numerical

    Exactly the same as sheet naming/revision convention.
    Last edited by elton williams; March 27th, 2020 at 03:07 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. replacement computer
    By Tom Dolle in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: December 25th, 2018, 04:29 AM
  2. Best practice for Worksets, Design Options and Groups
    By anthonyB in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 12th, 2016, 02:46 AM
  3. Saving a Work shared File with a Start/End View General Practice
    By DMapes in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 19th, 2013, 02:33 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 11th, 2012, 06:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •