Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is anyone else seeing a rash of VPN-related file corruptions?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 22, 2013
    Posts
    384
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Is anyone else seeing a rash of VPN-related file corruptions?

    MEP guy here.

    Like everyone else, we're closing out Week #3 of this giant unscheduled telework experiment. I've been getting regular emails and phonecalls from users telling me "Help! My model's corrupted!" Every case is being caused by people running Revit on their home machine and using the VPN to synchronize with the central file back at the office. (3 weeks ago I sent out an email telling everyone NOT to do this and to use a Remote Desktop app instead, but I digress...)

    But here's the wrinkle: We have several Revit users who've been issued laptops. Naturally they took their laptops home when this whole coronavirus thing happened. So their only way TO connect with our office network is through the VPN. So naturally, I'm being asked by these users "Okay, so what the hell am I supposed to do?"

    So what's the best thing to do here? What I'm suggesting to these laptop users is to bring their laptop into the office and remote into it from a home computer of their own. Is there anything else I can suggest?

    I looked into BIM360, but my managers don't want to touch it. I know that Autodesk has made it free for the next two months, but they don't want the added software purchase. We also have clients that have security issues with the model being saved to a cloud service.

    Any insights would be helpful! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member pivoarch's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 16, 2011
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    362
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Your other option would be to get them desktop computers that sit in the office so they can remote into them. We push all our models to BIM360 for laptop users by default but I get the added software expense is a hurdle.

  3. #3
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,016
    Current Local Time
    01:00 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Necro99 View Post
    MEP guy here.

    Like everyone else, we're closing out Week #3 of this giant unscheduled telework experiment. I've been getting regular emails and phonecalls from users telling me "Help! My model's corrupted!" Every case is being caused by people running Revit on their home machine and using the VPN to synchronize with the central file back at the office. (3 weeks ago I sent out an email telling everyone NOT to do this and to use a Remote Desktop app instead, but I digress...)

    But here's the wrinkle: We have several Revit users who've been issued laptops. Naturally they took their laptops home when this whole coronavirus thing happened. So their only way TO connect with our office network is through the VPN. So naturally, I'm being asked by these users "Okay, so what the hell am I supposed to do?"

    So what's the best thing to do here? What I'm suggesting to these laptop users is to bring their laptop into the office and remote into it from a home computer of their own. Is there anything else I can suggest?

    I looked into BIM360, but my managers don't want to touch it. I know that Autodesk has made it free for the next two months, but they don't want the added software purchase. We also have clients that have security issues with the model being saved to a cloud service.

    Any insights would be helpful! Thanks!
    There is nothing else you can suggest (other than BIM360) thats going to make their work computer AT HOME suddenly able to work on a Revit file thats in the office. No.

    Basically, you said "dont do this," and they came back with "well i already took my computer home, so can i do it anyway?" I mean, thats not going to make it suddenly work for them.

  4. #4
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,291
    Current Local Time
    01:00 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Lots of firms are freaked out about BIM 360 security.
    I like to ask those people: How do you do your banking? Ever access your checking or savings account online?
    Autodesk's web servers have a higher level of security than banks do.
    Here's a white paper on it:
    https://bim360resources.autodesk.com...ity-whitepaper
    I send that to a reluctant large client our ours and it convinced them to accept BIM 360
    As far as the cost: It's roughly $1000/person/year.
    How long do you think it takes in person-hours to recover from a corrupted model to cost $1000?
    Plus, with BIM 360,you don't need to email models back and forth every week.

    We haven't recently, but before we learned better, almost every time someone bent the rules and tried to work thru a VPN connection, we'd get a corrupted model. Also, when the person on VPN does a SWC, everyone else on the team is going to be there sitting and waiting for the SWC to finish. I've seen it hang up the entire team for a half hour.

  5. #5
    Forum Addict sdbrownaia's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 20, 2010
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Don't work over VPN, end of story. Either leave computers in the office and install logmein on them so the home users can work from home computers on their work computers, or create a VDI(expensive), or just bite the bullet and go to bim360, which in my experience is awesome. Save times go down significantly even from working on network server. Initial first time open, takes longer due to the downloading of all models but after that it seems to perform much better then working in the office(note this maybe due to infrastructure issues).

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    February 22, 2013
    Posts
    384
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ive talked up BIM360 to my managers but I dont see it going anywhere. Just like the CAD>Revit transition 10 years ago, we wont consider it until our architect clients are using it and demand that we do.

  7. #7
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    702
    Current Local Time
    11:00 PM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    Autodesk's web servers have a higher level of security than banks do.
    And it's not even "Autodesk's" web servers! All of BIM 360 runs on Amazon AWS. We use S3 for storage and EC2 for compute space.

    More info about Autodesk's perspective on data safety and security can be found at the Autodesk Trust site:

    https://trust.autodesk.com
    Last edited by Scott D Davis; April 3rd, 2020 at 06:07 PM.

  8. #8
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    702
    Current Local Time
    11:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    oops i can't get this image to embed? (edit, had to add some text, now it shows :-) )

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bim 360 compliance.png 
Views:	22 
Size:	95.3 KB 
ID:	38640
    Last edited by Scott D Davis; April 4th, 2020 at 02:23 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Elevations and Rooms - Are they Related?
    By zsmith3 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 21st, 2015, 08:06 PM
  2. Revit & BIM Related Conferences
    By kirklyncox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 12th, 2012, 04:26 PM
  3. Yes/no parameter related with numeric values
    By prawin92 in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 25th, 2012, 05:15 AM
  4. Warning when opening file (keynote related?)
    By blusurfer in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 31st, 2011, 08:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •