Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hiding Ceiling Devices on Floor Plans and Vice Versa

Current Local Time
    12:49 AM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Hiding Ceiling Devices on Floor Plans and Vice Versa

Hello everyone! I am very new to Revit, but I have been learning the software with help from videos, colleagues, and trial and error. I have a question about my methods for hiding ceiling devices on floor plans.

The project I am working on has varying ceiling heights on Level 1. For example: the lobby and a multipurpose room have ceilings that cut into Level 2. This means when I place wireless access points and speakers on those ceilings, the elements show up on the Level 2 floor plan because they are technically within the view range I have set for the floor plan view template. My goal is to prevent any ceiling device from showing up on the floor plans. To do this, I set up plan regions in both of those areas and changed the view range of those regions to exclude the height at which the ceiling devices are mounted. This works fine, but I feel like there may be a better, more intelligent way of achieving my goal?

Also, on the floor plans my speakers always show up. This is because the speaker family I am using (created by a manufacturer) shows speaker coverage. The speaker coverage cones extend down to the floor, making them visible on the floor plans since the coverage cones put them within the floor plan view range. The only solution I could find to excluding these items from the floor plans without also excluding floor devices at the same height is to right click > select all in view, then hide in view > elements. After doing this, it seems like this may be the easier way to hide ceiling devices from my floor plans. Is there any real downside to just selecting all of my ceiling devices in view (when on the floor plans) and choosing to hide them from the view?

I am likely just overthinking this all, but I figured it couldn't hurt to get an outside opinion. Thanks!