Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: "Transmitted model" saving a local copy?

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 6, 2015
    Posts
    92
    Current Local Time
    04:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    "Transmitted model" saving a local copy?

    Hi all. This is a bit strange to me, not sure what I'm doing wrong. We received an architectural model that wasn't detached. I go to open it and "Detach from Central" is forced checked on. So I can't even change that. However, when it does open, it doesn't ask me about detaching worksets or anything. Instead it shows me a list of all the worksets and I can open or close them. While it's loading, it tells me, "This model has been transmitted..." dialogue box, with my only options being to save as central again, or to work with it temporarily.

    Once the file opens, I can't save as a local copy. No matter what I do, when I go to "save as", it always forces "save as central model" to be checked. I can't create a local copy either.

    Any idea how to get around this? Tried searching around but never dealt with this before.

  2.    #2
    Member tidalwave1's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    140
    Current Local Time
    09:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I believe that you have to save the transmitted model as a new central file in order to be able to create a new local copy.

  3.    #3
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,291
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can't save a file as a Local Copy without a Central file existing.
    As tidal says, once you Save the copy as a Central, then you'll be able to make a Local

  4.    #4
    Member
    Join Date
    February 6, 2015
    Posts
    92
    Current Local Time
    04:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I did save the model as a Central on my drive, but then when I try to open it and make a local copy, that option is still greyed out and it instead forces me to create another central model (that option is checked and doesn't allow me to uncheck).

  5.    #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 8, 2020
    Posts
    6
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You could got through the process you described, and save it as a central. Once you do that, you could detach it, then resave as a new central and replace the old file. That should allow you to start working and make local copies.

  6.    #6
    Member
    Join Date
    February 6, 2015
    Posts
    92
    Current Local Time
    04:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks for the reply. I am able to save it and use it as a normal linked file, so far no issues, other than anytime I open it I get that dialogue box, and it's still a central model. No matter what I try it will not save as anything but a central model, regardless of how many time I 'detach'. However, since it's working fine at this point I'll just accept it.

    I was just hoping to understand why it's doing that and if there's a fix. I like to keep my linked models as single, local copies.

  7.    #7
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,777
    Current Local Time
    02:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you keep worksets when opening as detached you have no option but to save as a central. Thats what worksets are for.
    Remove worksets and it'll let you save a local stand alone version.

  8.    #8
    Member
    Join Date
    February 6, 2015
    Posts
    92
    Current Local Time
    04:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    That's the issue though, it doesn't give me the option to remove worksets. When I open the model, it doesn't ask me if I want to detach worksets (as I'm used to seeing). It simply pops up a menu like this: https://help.autodesk.com/cloudhelp/...3E70C584E9.png and my only option is to either open or close each workset.

  9.    #9
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,777
    Current Local Time
    02:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Rename the file and try again?

Similar Threads

  1. Possible to copy "View Types" from linked model
    By Jozi in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 11th, 2018, 08:11 AM
  2. Revit Server 2016 - Saving Issues "Not connected"
    By sdbrownaia in forum Worksharing, Revit Server & C4R
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 27th, 2016, 04:47 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 15th, 2016, 07:28 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 12th, 2013, 04:45 AM
  5. "Create New Local" checkbox is greyed out
    By Ning Zhou in forum Worksharing, Revit Server & C4R
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 26th, 2011, 06:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •