Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: 2 Graphic Cards in one PC - Nvidia DCH drivers runaround

  1.    #1
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    2 Graphic Cards in one PC - Nvidia DCH drivers runaround

    I must have missed that Nvidia altered some aspects of drivers for Geforce and Quadro graphic cards last year and I wondered if anyone else with 2 graphic cards in their PC has spent hours trying to work out what was going on when recently updating drivers?

    After many hours of research and experimentation what seems to have happened is that Nvidia now provides drivers as 'DCH' (basically it divorces the Nvidia Control Panel from being installed along with the driver):
    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...windows-10-faq

    Nvidia have also split their Geforce drivers into 'Studio' and 'Game ready'. Both of these options are only delivered as DCH (unless you look in the archives). Studio sounds like the option for 'creatives' to use.

    Unfortunately Nvidia still offer Quadro drivers for download by default as 'Standard' - you need to click on the drop down arrow which will offer 'DCH' instead.

    So, with a Quadro P4000 and a Geforce GTX 1080Ti in my PC and updated drivers I was going round and round with one or other card not working properly or throwing up Device Manager errors - the Quadro had the 'Standard' driver package - i.e. not DCH - and the Geforce had the Studio driver as DCH.

    Of course to add to the fun this meant that in trying to fight my way through the Microsoft App Store to 'purchase' at zero cost the Nvidia Control Panel it would not run - nor could it be uninstalled despite appearing on the Start menu of Apps

    Research and after a night's sleep realisation dawned on me today what had been happening.

    I've now installed the DCH version of the Quadro driver and all is well - for a while at least - and both cards are working fine (each one has its own monitor - Quadro for Revit and Geforce for Lumion or Enscape).

    Incidentally on installing new Nvidia drivers I always use the Custom option and choose the option for a clean install.

    I just thought this might help anyone else who may have been similarly puzzled

  2.    #2
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just a footnote.
    One good thing that has come out of all the research time spent on Nvidia cards and drivers is I have now worked out how, using Nvidia Control panel, to have the Geforce GTX 1080Ti card exclusively render Lumion scenes while leaving the Quadro P4000 free to continue running Revit, all on the same PC.

  3.    #3
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    127
    Current Local Time
    01:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by willsud View Post
    Just a footnote.
    One good thing that has come out of all the research time spent on Nvidia cards and drivers is I have now worked out how, using Nvidia Control panel, to have the Geforce GTX 1080Ti card exclusively render Lumion scenes while leaving the Quadro P4000 free to continue running Revit, all on the same PC.
    Have you experienced any difference in performance when running Revit on the GTX 1080ti instead of the P4000?
    Or have you never run Revit on a GTX card?

  4.    #4
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've not run Revit exclusively on a GTX card but I would imagine rendering would be faster on this particular GTX than the Quadro P4000 as that's why the manufacturer recommended installing the GTX card.

    I doubt you would notice any difference in normal operation of Revit - i.e. in regular Views.

    Many people use Geforce cards for Revit, Photoshop etc. - presumably that is why Nvidia have split driver development into 'Studio' and 'Game ready' er, if you believe the marketing

  5.    #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,007
    Current Local Time
    06:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    There are only upsides, to running on GeForce cards. I dont have a single Quadro in our office, anymore. Dollar for Dollar, they lay waste to the Quadros. In our office, we have:

    GTX 1060 (6GB variant) (Desktop)
    GTX 1080 Ti (Desktop)
    GTX 1080 (Desktop)
    RTX 2070 Super (Desktop)

    RTX 2070 (Laptop)
    RTX 2070 (Laptop)
    GTX 1070 (Laptop)
    GTX 1080 (Laptop)

    The Quadros are handy if you use software that actually is configured to not run without them, or if you want to virtualize on the graphics cards, which nvidia seems to have gimped on the GeForce cards.

  6.    #6
    Member remiscs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18, 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    272
    Current Local Time
    04:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    @willsud

    Did you prefer the DCH driver? I still install Standard drivers on all of my desktop machines. They release the current versions for it but you manually have to select "Beta and Older Drivers" but all of the standard versions are current. It I believe has to do with a push from Microsoft to get people on DCH drivers. Studio drivers just natural release slower as they are their "content creator" versions.

  7.    #7
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I could not find a current Geforce driver that wasn't DCH so then had to have DCH for the Quadro also. There are older drivers listed as you mention on the Nvidia site but MS says about DCH, rather like the Mandalorian, 'This is the way'

    While I don't notice any performance difference between DCH and the previous drivers, in use the installation does feel very smooth, fast and stable, so far - at least in Revit 2021 and Lumion 10.3. Despite the Nvidia Control panel now being separated off into a MS App it still appears if you right click the desktop just as it did previously when it came as part of the driver install.

  8.    #8
    Member remiscs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18, 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    272
    Current Local Time
    04:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by willsud View Post
    I could not find a current Geforce driver that wasn't DCH so then had to have DCH for the Quadro also. There are older drivers listed as you mention on the Nvidia site but MS says about DCH, rather like the Mandalorian, 'This is the way'

    While I don't notice any performance difference between DCH and the previous drivers, in use the installation does feel very smooth, fast and stable, so far - at least in Revit 2021 and Lumion 10.3. Despite the Nvidia Control panel now being separated off into a MS App it still appears if you right click the desktop just as it did previously when it came as part of the driver install.
    I wonder if the international Nvidia site is different, I double checked before posting and the latest drivers were available for both DCH and Standard here in the USA (Geforce Driver 445.87). Well all that matters is that your up and running properly which is good to hear.

  9.    #9
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ah, you could be right there - mine are International.

    445.87 is the Game ready driver - which I did install at one point - my Geforce Studio and also the Quadro are 442.92

    As you say, whatever, it works

  10.    #10
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,066
    Current Local Time
    12:00 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The appearance of the Studio drivers for the Geforce cards and Aaron's interesting post above sent me for a chat to my PC builder, Workstation Specialists.

    I've had a new PC every few years from them for many years (I have to give the machines away to relatives and friends eventually as they just don't seem to break down and keeping more than 2 backup PCs seems silly).

    Anyway, WS were with Aaron on this re. Geforce cards (always previously recommended Quadro) and they recommended keeping the same type of card in a 2,3 or 4 card PC to avoid driver issues.

    So in the end I ordered a new PC with 2 x RTX 2080 Ti graphic cards.

    That should be interesting

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Hardware : Video Graphic Cards
    By iru69 in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 562
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2020, 09:18 AM
  2. Two Graphic Cards and Revit 2013
    By newbee in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 5th, 2013, 12:33 PM
  3. Revit 2013 Nvidia certified drivers not for all products within BDSP 2013
    By willsud in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 30th, 2012, 08:04 PM
  4. What Revit Wants: NVIDIA drivers 295.73 WHQL - download
    By luke.johnson in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 21st, 2012, 10:15 PM
  5. Revit 2012 NVIDIA drivers.
    By wjnaim in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 25th, 2011, 06:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •