Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Laptop for Revit and other BIM related software

  1. #11
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    Laptop I have from the client has a i7 8750H @ 2.2 / 4.1, a Quadro P2000 and 32Gb ddr4-3200 memory
    I just notice that after a day of work it is getting trouble running stuff, taking longer to do tasks and in general a lot more waiting for me.
    Thats wierd, maybe it heats up in the room? But im not that common in the world of the laptops, so it might be normal for a lot of other laptops as well.

    3200mhz RAM? thats interesting, the HP laptops we looked for only have 2666mhz ram as an option. (eventho it would not make much difference)

    How does the P2000 do in Revit, i see it only has 1GB Vram, do you really notice slowdown in 3D views?

  2. #12
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,634
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No idea where the slowing down comes from, could be something on the network as well they do in the background. Does not seem to happen every day either.

    That P2000 has 4Gb of GDDR5 ram and works well in Revit, no issues at all. Even works reasonable in Enscape.

  3. #13
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    No idea where the slowing down comes from, could be something on the network as well they do in the background. Does not seem to happen every day either.

    That P2000 has 4Gb of GDDR5 ram and works well in Revit, no issues at all. Even works reasonable in Enscape.
    Oh 4GB? guess i got to the wrong page

    My question comes from my comparison between the T2000 or RTX 3000
    The T2000 has 4GB GDDR5, while the RTX 3000 has 6GB GDDR6.
    The difference in cost is 500 euro, do you think that would be worth it?

  4. #14
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,634
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Modderhoop View Post
    The difference in cost is 500 euro, do you think that would be worth it?
    For JUST Revit, nope

  5.    #15
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ok we have just recieved the new laptops.
    We went with the HP ZBook 15, with the quadro T2000.

    Fun fact.
    HP has very sneakely hidden on their website that the webcam of these laptops is optional. So our IT company that orders the laptops did not see this. and now we have laptops without webcams, but our cheap 600-700 euro laptops have webcams
    They might be returned and we get new ones with webcam. HP, what a great brand.

  6.    #16
    Member remiscs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18, 2015
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    275
    Current Local Time
    04:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Modderhoop View Post
    Ok we have just recieved the new laptops.
    We went with the HP ZBook 15, with the quadro T2000.

    Fun fact.
    HP has very sneakely hidden on their website that the webcam of these laptops is optional. So our IT company that orders the laptops did not see this. and now we have laptops without webcams, but our cheap 600-700 euro laptops have webcams
    They might be returned and we get new ones with webcam. HP, what a great brand.
    Huh, you would think it would be the other way around. Option to remove it.

  7.    #17
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by remiscs View Post
    Huh, you would think it would be the other way around. Option to remove it.
    Yes that!

    We are now probably getting new ones. But now with the i7 9750H because the i7 9850H model in the end could not have the webcam for some weird reason. I told them its fine since the i7 9750H is pretty simular to the i7 9850H, only losing 0,1GHz on the boost clock.

    The service we get from our IT company is utter garbage. They now first are going to sell our old laptops, only after they sold those we get some money back! What a great service (we might not even get all money back)
    Last edited by Modderhoop; July 16th, 2020 at 07:21 AM.

  8.    #18
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    01:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ok update.

    We did not get new laptops
    We are buying standalone webcams now. Think returning the laptops was no option after all...

Similar Threads

  1. Practice Revit software or Revit software lab near Seattle
    By julietsketches in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 27th, 2015, 06:17 AM
  2. Practice Revit software or Revit software lab near Seattle
    By julietsketches in forum Career Corner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2015, 11:11 PM
  3. Revit & BIM Related Conferences
    By kirklyncox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 12th, 2012, 04:26 PM
  4. This weekends adventures... non Revit related. =)
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Out There
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: July 27th, 2011, 01:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •