Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Shaft Opening

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 22, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    06:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Shaft Opening

    Hi,

    I have a simple question.

    Is it possible to model something based on the geometry of a shaft opening, i.e the width, length and depth of the penetration?

    Many Thanks.

    (Now you know why my username is void)

  2.    #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,008
    Current Local Time
    12:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Your questions is a bit vague. Why dont you tell us what youre actually trying to model, building component wise?

  3.    #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 22, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    06:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Your questions is a bit vague. Why dont you tell us what youre actually trying to model, building component wise?
    It's a riser system, to stop people/things falling through while the building is going up, basically a barrier between one floor and the next. It can then help with safety when services are in place as well, with cut outs where services run.

    For example, angle brackets for temporary flooring to sit on.

  4.    #4
    Member
    Join Date
    July 26, 2019
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    67
    Current Local Time
    12:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by void View Post
    It's a riser system, to stop people/things falling through while the building is going up, basically a barrier between one floor and the next. It can then help with safety when services are in place as well, with cut outs where services run.

    For example, angle brackets for temporary flooring to sit on.
    This sounds like an excellent candidate for Phasing.

    If you use "drop in" elevators from one of the vendors, the doors are almost always a separate Family within the Elevator Family. You can edit that door family to have a barricade in it, and control its Visibility by Phasing (or by a Yes/no toggle in the family, for that matter).

    Now for things like stairwells, or other communications shafts, that might take some finagling. Ideally we want this to be self-emplacing as much as possible, and the Family that achieves that would probably warrant more specific designing.

    Items like whether the barricades want scheduling--if only so as to track them on a yes/no basis per chart rather than having to manually visit every location in the model.

Similar Threads

  1. hide floor faint lines in shaft section or floor opening
    By ChrisDarmanin in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 14th, 2018, 01:16 PM
  2. Shaft Dimensions
    By thetragicjoy in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 10th, 2016, 05:40 PM
  3. Cut in-place floor with shaft opening
    By geometrygym in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 25th, 2014, 07:23 AM
  4. Cut shaft or Opening through Beam System
    By Ian.Kidston in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2012, 01:58 PM
  5. Shaft opening
    By madsagger in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 14th, 2011, 02:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •