Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Export into Revit from Chief Architect

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 5, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    04:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Export into Revit from Chief Architect

    This is my 1st forum post so please be nice.

    I'm looking to export a Chief Architect property architectural file into Revit. I can either export as a .dwf or .dwg. The file has a lot of detail such as floor plans, furniture, and an outlay of the garden. I'm looking for a full analysis of structural and MEP in Revit. Should I export all layers into Revit or just the structural layer? Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,106
    Current Local Time
    10:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Powys12 View Post
    This is my 1st forum post so please be nice.

    I'm looking to export a Chief Architect property architectural file into Revit. I can either export as a .dwf or .dwg. The file has a lot of detail such as floor plans, furniture, and an outlay of the garden. I'm looking for a full analysis of structural and MEP in Revit. Should I export all layers into Revit or just the structural layer? Thanks
    Welcome to the forum.

    There isn't a way to do what you are describing. Not simply, at least.

    You can bring in a solid model through DWG, but it will be dead geometry, and won't really have any item data assigned to it.

    You can bring in plans or views in 2d DWG, but they won't be intelligent at all.

    In short: Revit doesn't use DWG as it's file structure (DXF either). So you can use them to drag in solids, but I wouldn't expect much out of it.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Senior Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    503
    Current Local Time
    03:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Markering of Revit and Autodesk tells something completely different to the mainstream idea of RFO. Both ifc and dwg should be supported and work. And if not, be sure to submit your service request and idea. I say, Practice what you preach..

    https://www.autodesk.com/redshift/3-...es-into-revit/
    Last edited by HansLammerts; June 6th, 2020 at 10:02 AM.

  4. #4
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,794
    Current Local Time
    01:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by HansLammerts View Post
    Markering of Revit and Autodesk tells something completely different to the mainstream idea of RFO. Both ifc and dwg should be supported and work. And if not, be sure to submit your service request and idea. I say, Practice what you preach..

    https://www.autodesk.com/redshift/3-...es-into-revit/
    You do understand the concept of marketing, yeah?

    Never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

    I'm still waiting 8 weeks later for delivery of a prusa 3D printer after being promised it would only be 5 weeks

  5. #5
    Senior Member HansLammerts's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 22, 2011
    Posts
    503
    Current Local Time
    03:46 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by elton williams View Post
    You do understand the concept of marketing, yeah?

    Never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

    I'm still waiting 8 weeks later for delivery of a prusa 3D printer after being promised it would only be 5 weeks
    Yes i fully understand the concepts Autodesk uses. Very good at it.
    Last edited by HansLammerts; June 6th, 2020 at 11:10 AM.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 5, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    04:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Could I not export just a structural layer (floor layout) showing the load bearing walls/floor/ceiling to Revit? Anything basically to avoid having to start again in Revit

  7. #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,106
    Current Local Time
    10:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Powys12 View Post
    Could I not export just a structural layer (floor layout) showing the load bearing walls/floor/ceiling to Revit? Anything basically to avoid having to start again in Revit
    Sure, you can. But it will just be a Linked DWG sitting on the ground. You wont have any modeled objects, hence youll still need to model them again in Revit.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    June 5, 2020
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    04:46 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can I open a .dwg/.dxf structural drawing in AutoCAD instead of Revit? Would this be better for faster modelling of the drawing (adding MEP, etc.)?

  9. #9
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    710
    Current Local Time
    08:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Powys12 View Post
    Can I open a .dwg/.dxf structural drawing in AutoCAD instead of Revit? Would this be better for faster modelling of the drawing (adding MEP, etc.)?
    Let's start with this: is the DWG output from Chief a 2D DWG, or a 3D DWG? I just found this article, so it looks like you can get a 3D DWG export, if you export from Chief while in a camera view.

    https://www.chiefarchitect.com/suppo...0camera%20view

    both 2D and 3D DWG can be linked into a Revit project, but as everyone has stated, (including the article linked below from Kate) they will be static objects. You will be able to use this 3D DWG as a "coordination" model, but you will still have to model any additional items in Revit, such as structural or MEP components.
    Last edited by Scott D Davis; June 7th, 2020 at 05:35 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 19th, 2018, 06:42 PM
  2. Tried Chief Architect Need to know if Revit will fill gaps that CA is missing?
    By bob1112 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 8th, 2015, 04:19 AM
  3. looking to understand reit vs chief architect
    By evergreen_nin in forum Out There
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2015, 03:24 PM
  4. Can anyone here compare REVIT with Chief Architect?
    By Fun2Learn in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: November 21st, 2014, 07:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •