Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Schedules - Override with Manual Input. Linked model scheduling issue

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    290
    Current Local Time
    04:38 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Schedules - Override with Manual Input. Linked model scheduling issue

    I have a door schedule with certain fields, one being "From *room name*" I have a linked model, and it is set to have the doors to populate in the host model schedule. I have about 4 doors in the project and all of the doors are scheduling properly with the fields filled in EXCEPT for one door, where the "From *room name* " field is empty in the main model. I did the same procedure as the other doors, where I added room names in the linked model, numbered the doors, and filled in all the attributes. I can't figure out why this field remains blank for this door only, despite doing the same procedure. This continues to be an ongoing issue with Revit. One of my options is to do a manual override in the schedule which would allow me to add my own value. Is there any type of extension or plug in I could use that would allow me to do this?
    Last edited by katewood1989; July 28th, 2020 at 02:30 PM.

  2.    #2
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,359
    Current Local Time
    03:38 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Nope.
    A schedule is actual data from the model. No "override".
    Imagine what a mess that could become if you could just change any value without changing the model!

    Are you sure the door is accurate in the Link? My guess is the Room you're looking for is the "To Room" in the Link, not the From Room.
    if you have control of the Link, that's an easy fix.

  3.    #3
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    477
    Current Local Time
    06:38 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I often find, as DaveP notes, that the To Room does not report as I want it - usually because the instance is an outward opening door. My solution is:
    * a project checkbox parameter named Flip Room Reporting applied to Doors,
    * a door schedule where this parameter shows,
    * plus a calculated value in the schedule running an If statement to drive its value.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200729-DoorFlipRoomReportingSchedule.PNG 
Views:	20 
Size:	6.0 KB 
ID:	39180   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200729-DoorFlipRoomReportingPlan.PNG 
Views:	18 
Size:	19.6 KB 
ID:	39181  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4.    #4
    Member aperte's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Posts
    94
    Current Local Time
    01:38 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Interesting approach, AnthonyB - I'm going to have to give that a try....

  5.    #5
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    477
    Current Local Time
    06:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Note that the ROOM NAME value only lives in that schedule. It is not written to the door parameters or available elsewhere.

  6.    #6
    Senior Member Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    747
    Current Local Time
    08:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thats a great idea: only option for doors within links I guess.
    Oh hang on - that won't work for doors in links, since you are adding the "flip room reporting" parameter to the doors and controlling it in the schedule - that wont control the linked file doors

    For doors within the project, I gave up and don't use the "room calculation point" in the door families: then users can switch the room they want recorded in the schedule without the door flipping (doesnt work for linked doors however)
    When room calculation points got added to families, I expected the room calculation point to be reversible as an instance of the door - since its not, I reckon its more trouble than its worth (i.e. users changing it in the schedule and not realizing they have just flipped it)
    Last edited by Alex Page; July 30th, 2020 at 01:36 AM.

  7.    #7
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    477
    Current Local Time
    06:38 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Agreed. If the room calculation point was instance controllable, it would be great. But alas not.

    The Flip Room Reporting is visible in a linked file, but not changeable from the master. If you can visit your linked file to make the changes then all is fine.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200730-DoorFlipRoomReportingLinked.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	65.7 KB 
ID:	39189  
    Last edited by anthonyB; July 30th, 2020 at 02:27 AM.

  8.    #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    July 30, 2020
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    08:38 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can show the image of the blueprint, which is easier for us to imagine.

Similar Threads

  1. 2019 scheduling rooms from linked model using level from main model
    By ledgewood33 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 11th, 2019, 04:42 PM
  2. easy way to override graphics for linked model
    By Ning Zhou in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 21st, 2018, 03:29 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 1st, 2017, 09:05 AM
  4. Scheduling Linked Model Instances?
    By kylecaparella in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 20th, 2015, 01:28 AM
  5. Override Linked model wall color. Is it possible?
    By Hilife in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 21st, 2013, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •