Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: In-Place Generic Model Display Issue

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    286
    Current Local Time
    06:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    In-Place Generic Model Display Issue

    I made an in place generic model family of an overhang / canopy. Its composed of a translucent glazing set on top of a steel structure below. It's not displaying with the material attributes. It just looks like white boxes (See attached image 1) when I select it, however, it shows the way I Want to see it, with the correct surface patterns and material transparencies. (see image 2). I want it to look like it does when selected. I tried adjusting the detail level to no avail. How do I fix this?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Generic Model - 2.PNG 
Views:	24 
Size:	34.0 KB 
ID:	39183   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Generic Model - 1.PNG 
Views:	22 
Size:	51.5 KB 
ID:	39184  
    Last edited by katewood1989; July 29th, 2020 at 03:47 PM.

  2.    #2
    Member aperte's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Posts
    94
    Current Local Time
    03:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What phase is the element created as? Is there a Phase Filter that is overriding materials for that phase applied to the view?

  3.    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    286
    Current Local Time
    06:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    unfortunately, it's not a phase issue. Everything is on the same phase.

  4.    #4
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,188
    Current Local Time
    03:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If I understand what I'm seeing, I think it will need to be within the Primary Range of View Range and not in View Depth.

  5.    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    286
    Current Local Time
    06:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can you please clarify what you mean by this?

  6.    #6
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,188
    Current Local Time
    03:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You wrote:

    Quote Originally Posted by katewood1989
    ...an overhang / canopy. It's composed of a translucent glazing set on top of a steel structure below...
    That leads me to believe you are looking down at the overhang in the views you shared. If so, the view range of that view needs to be adjusted so that the primary range of the view range is deep enough to include the overhang elements so that projection/cut appearance controls can interact with it. If the overhang is only visible within the View Depth of View Range then it has less control over the appearance of the element, it is drawn with the <Beyond> linestyle and patterns etc. don't get shown.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ViewRange.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	84.2 KB 
ID:	39186  

  7.    #7
    Member
    Join Date
    September 21, 2016
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    286
    Current Local Time
    06:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you for your response. I am still having issues. This is what it looks like in plan and in section as well as the view depth (see attached images) Thank you for your patience. This is driving me crazy. Hopefully there is an easy solution.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Visibility Issue - 3.PNG 
Views:	17 
Size:	20.8 KB 
ID:	39187   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Visibility Issue - 4.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	11.7 KB 
ID:	39188  

  8.    #8
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,188
    Current Local Time
    03:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you try making it deeper, far enough that the whole family is within the Primary Range? What category did you assign it to?

  9.    #9
    Member scourdx's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    58
    Current Local Time
    03:24 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Check and see if there is filter or object surface pattern turned off. As well if nothing works, try right click and override object by element? Change the surface pattern to glass and then set the transparency to 20%.

Similar Threads

  1. Floor Based in-place generic model family won't move in the horizontal direction
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 21st, 2018, 10:32 PM
  2. Editing Generic In Place Model Disappears
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 5th, 2018, 09:05 PM
  3. Model In-Place can join but can't cut Generic Families?
    By billiam in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 4th, 2017, 09:52 AM
  4. any idea on how to rotate Generic model in place from horizontal into vertical?
    By ahmed_hassan in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: November 9th, 2011, 02:02 AM
  5. How to place generic model material into reveal?
    By bangobeat in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 19th, 2011, 10:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •