Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Apartment Type model groups

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Apartment Type model groups

    As per the thread title we've modelled all our apartment types (62) as model groups and populated our towers with all the apartments. All well and good so far.....

    However, we have 1 floor level that has a different floor to floor level than the others. The apartment types are the same at that level as the other levels but obviously the wall heights are different.

    I think i know the answer but I'll ask anyway.....

    Is there anyway to vary the wall heights within one instance of a model group or do we have to create a new group for that 1 instance.

    Muchos gracias

  2.    #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,259
    Current Local Time
    04:16 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by robp View Post
    As per the thread title we've modelled all our apartment types (62) as model groups and populated our towers with all the apartments. All well and good so far.....

    However, we have 1 floor level that has a different floor to floor level than the others. The apartment types are the same at that level as the other levels but obviously the wall heights are different.

    I think i know the answer but I'll ask anyway.....

    Is there anyway to vary the wall heights within one instance of a model group or do we have to create a new group for that 1 instance.

    Muchos gracias
    Two options:

    1. Different group types
    2. Use Attach Walls (to a floor or Roof above)

    Attaching walls allows the heights per group instance to be different.

    Me personally? I just make them a different group type. Its not worth the complications of the attachments, IMHO.

  3.    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Use Attach Walls (to a floor or Roof above)
    The floor slabs are in a linked S.E. model but i presume you can do it to a reference planes too?

    What complications may arise from using the attach? If i amend a wall type within the group will it remember the attach?

  4.    #4
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,259
    Current Local Time
    04:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Going to be harder to do with Reference Planes, but i imagine you could make it work. I would consider having a Roof or set of roofs thats used only for this purpose, that arent actually intended to be a part of the model. I previous-phase them, when i need to accomplish this.

    What complications? I cant say, exhaustively, because i dont do it. I make different group types.

    I know it works, though. But i imagine Revit MIGHT get cranky over the groups differences, if or when its forced to unjoin a wall attachment from the Roof or reference plane, or something.

  5.    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    10:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    But i imagine Revit MIGHT get cranky over the groups differences, if or when its forced to unjoin a wall attachment from the Roof or reference plane, or something.
    That's my worry. Thanks for your advice

  6.    #6
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267
    Current Local Time
    09:16 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can give the walls their own group and nest that into the apartmentgroup, so when you need to change the kitchen or so it changes on all floors.
    Last edited by Marcel Jansen; August 28th, 2020 at 09:26 PM.

  7.    #7
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,852
    Current Local Time
    02:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Marcel Jansen View Post
    You can give the walls their own group and nest that into the apartmentgroup, so when you need to change the kitchen or so it changes on all floors.
    I like that approach.

    I dislike making new types when the plan is the same since it means I should document them as well -- so two sets of documents for the same floor plan just because the walls are a different height? makes my wrist hurt just thinking about it! lol

  8.    #8
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,259
    Current Local Time
    04:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by GMcDowellJr View Post
    I like that approach.

    I dislike making new types when the plan is the same since it means I should document them as well -- so two sets of documents for the same floor plan just because the walls are a different height? makes my wrist hurt just thinking about it! lol
    Unless im misunderstanding, it wont help: Youll still end up with a different overall apartment group, for the taller units. How does having the walls grouped solve that issue? To swap out or edit the walls group, youd still need a new parent group type.

  9.    #9
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267
    Current Local Time
    09:16 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Indeed, you get new groups for the lower walls, but if you change something other than the walls it still changes in all the groups.
    You don't have to change the lower wall groups by hand then.

  10.    #10
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,259
    Current Local Time
    04:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I see what youre getting at. Mitigating the efforts to change the dupes, but still having the dupes. Like we do with other sub-group rooms. Got it!

Similar Threads

  1. Model groups and detail groups together
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 12th, 2018, 08:13 AM
  2. Revit Apartment Groups - Best practices
    By samblake in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2017, 12:44 PM
  3. Model Groups Saving without Attached Detail Groups
    By GMcDowellJr in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2016, 04:34 PM
  4. Model groups - Attaching existing detail groups, not creating new ones?!
    By basilmir in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 21st, 2014, 11:06 AM
  5. Groups- Editing type parameters of a door
    By Elisa in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 4th, 2011, 11:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •