Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Calculating area / volume / material quantity for Construction cost

  1.    #1
    Lurker
    Join Date
    September 5, 2020
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    09:23 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Calculating area / volume / material quantity for Construction cost

    Hi,

    I have created 2 models. One of a Steel truss bridge and other of a RCC bridge.

    My problem is, I created all of it as a 1 generic family. The entire structure is a 1 unit combined, I can't seem to select single element of a truss or the pavement or the arch support of the Steel truss bridge. Same for RCC, I cant insividually click on any column, beam, pier cap, parapet wall, pavement or abutment etc.


    When you hover the mouse cursor over the entire structure is blue and selected.

    My focus is to create a material estimate, apply costs and calculate construction cost.

    https://ibb.co/X8VvDX2
    https://ibb.co/LvV8rdK

    Please refer to pics and help me out.

  2.    #2
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,244
    Current Local Time
    05:23 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Welcome to the forum.

    Sounds like you are using Revit as AutoCAD or Rhino. Now you want elements, schedules, quantities. In Revit, there are elements for beams, bracing, columns, floors, footings, connections, in the project, not in the family editor. If you model a bridge with those elements, then you can select them and count them.

  3.    #3
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    166
    Current Local Time
    11:23 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you want to be able to select and schedule parts inside a family you will need to use subfamilies (family inside a family).
    Both the main family and the subfamily need to be set to ''shared''.

    I can not make out from the pictures if your family already uses subfamilies or not.

    If not; create seperate families (subfamilies) of the parts you want to be able to schedule, and load / use these inside the main family.
    If you fill in the cost parameters (and other information) in these subfamilies, you can schedule these inside the project.

    As suggested above you could also use the OOTB revit categories like beams and columns to make this bridge and make it into a group. Depending on how you intend to use this model.
    Last edited by Modderhoop; September 5th, 2020 at 12:26 PM.

  4.    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    932
    Current Local Time
    07:23 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    This is exactly what I have just spent about 5 days working on.

    I have a family containing multiple "sub families" and I want to be able to report each "sub family" for phasing, and other calculations (length, volumes etc).

    This is all possible using PARTS - but you will need to be careful how the family is set up. This may work with the current family you have depending on how it was made.

    Check out if you can divide the element into "parts" (it stays as one object but lets me see the constituant parts and control some of their parameters individually)

    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...32851-htm.html

Similar Threads

  1. Calculating volume
    By JediArchitect in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 12th, 2020, 04:14 PM
  2. Construction Cost Schedule
    By WhirledPeas in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2018, 02:53 PM
  3. Quantity/Area Schedules and Calculated Values
    By hansong2 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 4th, 2018, 10:00 PM
  4. Calculating the wall finish area exactly.
    By drzamich in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 21st, 2016, 05:48 PM
  5. Calculating area of an in-place family
    By narlee in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 7th, 2013, 11:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •