Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Detail Item Misbehaving

  1.    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    July 13, 2018
    Posts
    16
    Current Local Time
    12:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Detail Item Misbehaving

    I could scream!

    I have a detail Item that I inserted which was a CAD file base.

    When I made it I put a masking region behind it, it was working for a while and even the old ones still work, but recently when I copy/paste or insert it's like the masking region is somehow in front of it...or something else entirely, I'm perplexed

    I've re-edited the family, I've tried putting the masking region in front thinking perhaps that was it, I even made a whole new one without the mask and it won't work at all, if I amend one to the new test version it just disappears and nothing comes in at all, even if I insert new...I thought it must be a view thing so I went to edit the V/G overrides and the detail isn't even in the file but the working one is...what the heck!? I'm lost....

    Any ideas?

    TIA
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	detail wipeout issue 1.JPG 
Views:	21 
Size:	20.1 KB 
ID:	39402   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	detail wipeout issue 2.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	55.8 KB 
ID:	39403   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	detail wipeout issue 3.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	75.6 KB 
ID:	39404   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	detail wipeout issue show hidden.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	39405   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	detail wipeout issue 4.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	105.8 KB 
ID:	39406  

    Attached Files Attached Files

  2.    #2
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,244
    Current Local Time
    02:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just curious, what is special in that detail that makes you import CAD content? Is it not better to draw this in Revit and avoid all these issues? See your image #2, you already have several CAD imports. This can slow down and corrupt your models.
    Last edited by Alfredo Medina; September 15th, 2020 at 12:59 AM.

  3.    #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    July 13, 2018
    Posts
    16
    Current Local Time
    12:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    They're there because they are the base of the drawing - this is what was provided by the client for locates and site info, and the guy I am working for has CAD details he wants me to use. I try to link as much as possible vs inserting them, but for a detail that you have in CAD originally - is there a better way to get it over to Revit beyond recreation? I suppose I could delete a few now that it's drawn, perhaps that will help...

  4.    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    926
    Current Local Time
    04:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by WhirledPeas View Post
    They're there because they are the base of the drawing - this is what was provided by the client for locates and site info, and the guy I am working for has CAD details he wants me to use. I try to link as much as possible vs inserting them, but for a detail that you have in CAD originally - is there a better way to get it over to Revit beyond recreation? I suppose I could delete a few now that it's drawn, perhaps that will help...
    There is another way but its not better, but you can copy/paste between cad and revit. I would not recommend it though.
    You are better to redraw the object from scratch that way you don't get all the cad linetypes brought in.

Similar Threads

  1. Detail item with text
    By mkisno4 in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26th, 2017, 08:42 PM
  2. Detail Item Family
    By ecraider in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 6th, 2015, 06:11 PM
  3. Detail Item Not Flexing in Family
    By Revitista in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 19th, 2014, 01:17 AM
  4. Default Detail Item Tag
    By RodneyLester in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 8th, 2012, 03:03 PM
  5. Titleblock vs Detail Item
    By jsnyder in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 8th, 2011, 10:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •