Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Enable Snaps

  1.    #1
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,818
    Current Local Time
    03:30 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Enable Snaps

    I've just discovered this parameter in v2020, so now I can more accurately use the measure tool on imported pdfs

    When did this parameter appear? Or am I just blind and it has always been there since pdfs could be imported?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	33 
Size:	6.9 KB 
ID:	39411

  2.    #2
    Member pivoarch's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 16, 2011
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    375
    Current Local Time
    01:30 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    This was new I believe for 2020. The accuracy is ok but yes it is nice to be able to measure.

  3.    #3
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,818
    Current Local Time
    03:30 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    yeah it's probably no more accurate than drawing over an imported jpeg, just thought it was cool.

  4.    #4
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,092
    Current Local Time
    06:30 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I assumed it snapped to vectors within the PDF and found the feature by accident the first time, up on the toolbar, then later spotted that it was a parameter as well.

    The snapping seems to be to vector elements within the PDF. Most of my drawing sheet plots are in raster to PDF so I cannot snap to the raster elements, but I notice that the title panels in a PDF plot of a sheet can be snapped to if linked in to a Revit View. I guess the lines in a title panel are plotted as vectors even in a raster plot?

    A PDF file, as I understand it, is a 'wrapper' for a range of filetypes.

    In any event it is a relief to be able to link in PDFs at long last

  5.    #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,251
    Current Local Time
    12:30 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Keep in mind that PDF's in Revit are NOT vector. They are rasterized, even if you have Vector PDF's to start.

    I havent tested it since last year, but when it ested it last year, even snapping to items i had previously drawn in Revit (and then created a PDF from Revit) at fixed angles like 0, 90, and 45, generated WIDELY wrong angles, when snapping to the PDF in Revit. Like, more than a couple of degrees, wrong.

  6.    #6
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,092
    Current Local Time
    06:30 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's an odd feature then. I can only make it snap to the frame of the sheet title block - at corners etc.

  7.    #7
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,818
    Current Local Time
    03:30 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Keep in mind that PDF's in Revit are NOT vector. They are rasterized, even if you have Vector PDF's to start.

    I havent tested it since last year, but when it ested it last year, even snapping to items i had previously drawn in Revit (and then created a PDF from Revit) at fixed angles like 0, 90, and 45, generated WIDELY wrong angles, when snapping to the PDF in Revit. Like, more than a couple of degrees, wrong.
    I only link pdfs into drafting views to do markups on consultant shop drawings, so it's nothing vital. Easier to do in Revit than clunking around in acrobat (no i dont have bluebeam). And they get removed once done.

  8.    #8
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,092
    Current Local Time
    06:30 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Same here - lots of firms you might think would know a thing or two about formats and cad have no idea and send PDF drawings as a matter of course. The ones that I particularly hate are the ones where they have used a weird scale to fit the drawing on to say, A3 to create the PDF.

    Lawyers engaged in conveyancing (i.e. property sales) in England regularly send me Location plans as A4 PDF files and ask me to check dimensions

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with snaps
    By tuz82 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 29th, 2018, 06:00 PM
  2. Enable Cad Manager Channel
    By Charles Karl in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 16th, 2016, 01:42 AM
  3. Snaps for Spot Elevation
    By koolair in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 6th, 2015, 06:58 AM
  4. Snaps
    By Jock in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: February 4th, 2015, 01:27 PM
  5. Disable Remote Snaps
    By MrBIMtastic in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 21st, 2014, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •