Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Type Catalog

  1.    #1
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    490
    Current Local Time
    05:10 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Type Catalog

    I rarely see Type Catalogs in my work. What are your thoughts on them please?
    Do you use them all the time, some of the time, or not at all?
    Thanking you.

  2.    #2
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,831
    Current Local Time
    04:10 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    we use them for structural framing/ columns and doors. Getting users to follow the workflow without just duplicating types is the hardest part.

    *Edit...windows and toilet / shower stalls and sinks as well
    Last edited by elton williams; September 25th, 2020 at 01:32 PM.

  3.    #3
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,298
    Current Local Time
    01:10 PM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Structural Columns, Structural Framing, Cabinets (Base, Upper, Full Height), View Titles, etc.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  4.    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    972
    Current Local Time
    04:10 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Anthony I have a really old type catalogue of structural framing that we modified to include the cleat plates (before the structural connections module existed) and they worked swimmingly.

  5.    #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    September 3, 2020
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    02:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Greetings, this may not directly answer the original question but, something that i have started doing is using lookup tables in conjunction with type catalogs. specifically with I-shape structural steel, the type catalog only references the "name" ex. W8x18. then the lookup find the size the of steel to lock the dimensions that i don't want to change. only starting this procedure the negatives have yet to be found.
    In my case i have weld plates/ slugs (specialty equipment) that are standard size and given a label. i want the user to change the label not the size.

    Twiceroadsfool, i find that you use them for view titles very interesting, would you be able to be able to explain?

    regards,

  6.    #6
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,831
    Current Local Time
    04:10 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ewc View Post

    Twiceroadsfool, i find that you use them for view titles very interesting

    regards,
    Me too and now that I've thought about it, it makes sense. We have about 20 types in our template and although different projects use different types, maybe 4-5 are typically used in any one project.

  7.    #7
    Member duende123's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 20, 2015
    Posts
    238
    Current Local Time
    02:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Alert: Do not use type catalog if the family contains some "Family type" parameter

  8.    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    August 19, 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    526
    Current Local Time
    02:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by duende123 View Post
    Alert: Do not use type catalog if the family contains some "Family type" parameter
    Beyond the inability to import the type catalog in the family editor, why do you say that?

  9.    #9
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,298
    Current Local Time
    01:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew K View Post
    Beyond the inability to import the type catalog in the family editor, why do you say that?
    Well, i dont know if it ever got fixed, but when the Factory released "EXPORT to Type Catalog," it conveniently LEFT OFF the Family Type Parameters.

    So i use Type Cats all the time, with content that has FT parameters, i completely agree with you there.

    I just make the TC's by hand, so i dont lose all the settings in the Family Types. LOL

  10.    #10
    Member duende123's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 20, 2015
    Posts
    238
    Current Local Time
    02:10 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It is difficult for me to explain.
    but when the different types include a variation of a family type parameter I don't use catalog, I create them within the family.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Type catalog Problem for families of same type
    By daniellax in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 5th, 2017, 01:34 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 11th, 2016, 12:15 AM
  3. Revit OpEd: Family Type as Type Catalog Flag
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 11th, 2013, 03:15 PM
  4. Type Catalog
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 7th, 2012, 03:02 PM
  5. Type Catalog
    By yil5167 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 24th, 2012, 07:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •