Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mixed units project - HELP!

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2020
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    07:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Mixed units project - HELP!

    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to the Forum and glad to be part of this community now

    I'm a decent Revit user but not so experienced.
    Here's my problem: I am working on a Imperial unit project, a restaurant renovation.
    All the modeling is going ok but now I have to submit an application to the Town & Country Planning Office.
    T&CPO ask for a project location plan at the scale of 1:2500 (metric) and all the rest can be in Imperial units.
    I do have the location plan file (big map) in Autocad (DWG) format, metric units - it's in meters - and i would like to import it into Revit and scale it into a sheet to 1:2500
    1 - I can import the dwg that get inserted in meters, fine
    2 - I have to scale it down and 1:2500 is a scale factor of 0.004 or should I not have to scale it and leave it as is??
    3 - if I insert it in a sheet I am not able to control the scale...
    4 - If I insert it in a plan, the model is in the way but it's not a big deal but then...I cannot set the plan display scale to 1:2500...

    How do I get the Autocad metric map on a sheet in the proper 1:2500 scale when I do have an Imperial units project???

    Thank you for your help!

  2. #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,739
    Current Local Time
    02:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi, I moved you thread to a more suitable location, just so you know.

  3. #3
    Forum Addict
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    1,007
    Current Local Time
    11:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can switch between units at any time (Type UN) and modify the units.

    You can therefore switch to imperial, import your file then switch back to metric and the scaling will be done automatically when switching between imperial/metric

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2020
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    07:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you Robin

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 7, 2020
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    07:13 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you Karalon
    So what you are saying is
    1 switch to Metric units
    2 import CAD map into a view - site plan
    3 set its scale to 1:2500
    4 put the view into a sheet
    5 switch back to Imperial units
    6 switch between units depending on what I have to print

    Did I get it right?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Forum Addict
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    1,007
    Current Local Time
    11:13 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Essentially yes, that is how I would approach it.

    You want to match the units of the source file when you import then you can switch back to whatever you need to work on. The dimensions will change on all your drawings to the current units also, Revit will just do the conversion for you on the fly.

Similar Threads

  1. Keep Family Units separate from Project Units
    By mhoard in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 26th, 2018, 05:43 PM
  2. Amending speciality equipment project units
    By acnews in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 21st, 2016, 03:23 PM
  3. Project Units
    By Lox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 7th, 2014, 10:25 PM
  4. Setting a Parameters Value and Project Units
    By samz1 in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 9th, 2014, 06:55 AM
  5. How i can make the family with default project units ?
    By ahmed_hassan in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 30th, 2011, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •