Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Do Addons Work With Revit In Viewer Mode?

  1.    #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    January 29, 2015
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    01:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Do Addons Work With Revit In Viewer Mode?

    Hello Everyone;

    A question that might be off-the-wall: Do addons work if a full version of Revit is in viewer mode?

    The reason behind my question is that our company is thinking of using PyRevits print function so that we can print sheets in a certain order. The hitch is that not everyone in the company has access to the full version of Revit and of coarse Revit LT does not support addons. On the other hand, it is possible to run the full version of Revit in viewer mode and print a model. So is it possible to use PyRevit in viewer mode?

    Sincerely;
    Michelle

  2.    #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,710
    Current Local Time
    10:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just tried it and it seems most add-ins work, but the pyRevit print option does not as I think it uses the 'standard' print option of Revit in the background. Other functions of pyRevit do work, like the pattern maker for example. I also tried Xrev Transmit (what I use for exporting and printing) and that does work without any trouble.

    So my advise is to just try it.

  3.    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 14, 2012
    Location
    Where the plains meet the mountains
    Posts
    509
    Current Local Time
    02:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I say test it and see. At most it will operate similar to the Revit viewer in that it will print as long as nothing has been changed in the file. I believe the print function is disabled as soon as something changes in the Revit viewer. So you can either use it to record/print a file or demo actions, but not both in the same session.

  4.    #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    January 29, 2015
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    01:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you all for your replies. I guess experimentation looks like the way to go....

    Sincerely;
    Michelle

  5.    #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,303
    Current Local Time
    03:32 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    Just tried it and it seems most add-ins work, but the pyRevit print option does not as I think it uses the 'standard' print option of Revit in the background. Other functions of pyRevit do work, like the pattern maker for example. I also tried Xrev Transmit (what I use for exporting and printing) and that does work without any trouble.

    So my advise is to just try it.
    This. But pyRevits print function appears to be the actual Print Command, so it doesnt work. (it pops up the *you are in viewer mode* message.

  6.    #6
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,400
    Current Local Time
    03:32 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The reason it doesn't work is that pyRevit makes changes to the Sheets.
    In order to get them to print - ummm - in order, they stick a non-printing character in front of the Sheet name and then sorts by that.
    But Revit considers that a change, and thus defeats the Viewer mode.

  7.    #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,303
    Current Local Time
    03:32 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    The reason it doesn't work is that pyRevit makes changes to the Sheets.
    In order to get them to print - ummm - in order, they stick a non-printing character in front of the Sheet name and then sorts by that.
    But Revit considers that a change, and thus defeats the Viewer mode.
    Wow, thats interesting. I thought it was the initiation of the Print itself, that made it not work without a valid license. I just tried the CTC Batch Exporter (which batch prints), and sure enough it works like a champ!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 17th, 2017, 08:40 AM
  2. Revit Viewer Mode: Any possible ways to SAVE my work??
    By Landtee in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2014, 11:54 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 17th, 2013, 11:15 AM
  4. Revit OpEd: Viewer Mode and Worksharing
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 10th, 2012, 01:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •