Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Equivalent node

  1. #11
    Member Bjorn_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 8, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    429
    Current Local Time
    07:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Remove those first 2 nodes and just make a list with the same string names as in your column A of the excel. ["Windows", "Doors", etc]

    That should get you past this hurdle. The rest of that script looks pretty convoluted so unsure if it is actually going to work. The template things you're testing are completely irrelevant.

    And to repeat myself, if you're learning this on Dynamo 1.2, just stop, stop right now and focus your time and effort on current releases.

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 31, 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    170
    Current Local Time
    06:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Bjorn_K View Post
    Remove those first 2 nodes and just make a list with the same string names as in your column A of the excel. ["Windows", "Doors", etc]

    That should get you past this hurdle. The rest of that script looks pretty convoluted so unsure if it is actually going to work. The template things you're testing are completely irrelevant.

    And to repeat myself, if you're learning this on Dynamo 1.2, just stop, stop right now and focus your time and effort on current releases.
    Why is it irrelevant?
    Thanks for the excel cue!


    **update** I was using the dynamo from 2021 which is not 1.2.2 , I tought it was the 1.2.2 since I installed it.. but it was not. So I took the moment to remove others from my computer! thanks
    Yeah I am downloading right now, sorry last time I checked on autodesk store it was the last version. I am redownloading it! thanks sir!
    Last edited by Midaz; October 26th, 2020 at 09:18 PM.

  3. #13
    Member Bjorn_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 8, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    429
    Current Local Time
    07:50 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Your testing the same script against different templates.

    The error in your script is in the step that it asks the BuiltInCategories for its Name in string format and that the action cannot be done. So it does not matter what Categories they are or what template is active in Revit. The object type of which you ask the name is probably not compatible with the way that Node asks the Name.

    Like I said earlier, I see nothing smart or efficient in collecting all (!) the Categories in Revit, ask them for their name and then comparing them to a very select list of names in an excel sheet.
    Could be a lot less resource intensive by just asking a Categoy.ByName using the first column from the Excel. (Assuming the excel and the Revit install are in the same language)

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 31, 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    170
    Current Local Time
    06:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I tought you were saying entire script was wrong and useless. I agree, it is huge for maybe not too much ! I will rework around it, I will keep the frame to guide me and learn trought it!

    Thanks for your advice sir! I will let you know when I'm done

Similar Threads

  1. Revit character search. An all inclusive equivalent to Ctrl + F
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 13th, 2017, 04:53 PM
  2. Is there an equivalent function in Revit for the AutoCAD LOFT?
    By cve60069 in forum Architecture - Conceptual Massing and Adaptive Components
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 7th, 2016, 02:25 PM
  3. Google Map Image or equivalent in a 3d view
    By Usernumerouno in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 31st, 2015, 03:56 AM
  4. Equivalent command to Layoff
    By dvereber in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 11th, 2014, 10:56 AM
  5. Equivalent of 3dMaxs's UVW map in Revit
    By kjubas in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 4th, 2014, 03:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •