Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Revit not printing objects smaller than 1/100"

  1.    #1
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    343
    Current Local Time
    08:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Revit not printing objects smaller than 1/100"

    We have some louvres mounted externally in our project. Their dimensions are 40x40mm.
    They will not print in scale 1/200, but gladly in 1/157.......-my guess is that is because their resulting line length in the PDF is then <0.254mm(~1/100", so no arbitrary value. Thank you, Imperial Units).

    Right now our workaround os to dimension them 40x52mm, which results in two of the lines being long enough to print, and therefore the whole object prints....

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-12_10h51_28.png 
Views:	29 
Size:	10.2 KB 
ID:	39690
    Any suggestions to workarounds that does not imply changing the actual dimensions of our architecture, are more than welcome.....
    (please reconstruct and aknowledge the problem before you shoot workarounds at me, thx in advance )


    -just so you know, Autodesk is on the case:
    link
    -my guess is, they will find a cure for COVID19, before they fix this.....
    Last edited by tuekappel; November 12th, 2020 at 05:12 PM.

  2.    #2
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    343
    Current Local Time
    08:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Allowing myself to bump this question. Am i the only one who have struggled with this?

  3.    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    June 14, 2011
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    649
    Current Local Time
    02:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "This is due to a current limitation of the product feature in Revit."

    Good luck!

  4.    #4
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,394
    Current Local Time
    01:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Wow, thats interesting. I would have assumed it would try to print, and it would be up to the printer and print settings to see if it could handle it. Thats wild!

  5.    #5
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    343
    Current Local Time
    08:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yeah, i'm flustered too. It even goes for the print preview, so it's definitely on the Revit side of things.
    It would make sense if objects were so small in print that the linewidths would melt together, but as you see from my screenshot, they don't.

    One workaround i saw was to print PDF's to double scale, and then downscale those PDF's. I absolutely abhor that kind of extra work, imagine doing that for every print session.

    Detail Lines wil print, apparently:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-17_10h09_44.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	8.8 KB 
ID:	39711

    Troubleshooting further on:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-17_10h37_48.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	60.9 KB 
ID:	39712
    -resulting in print:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-17_10h40_11.png 
Views:	16 
Size:	97.1 KB 
ID:	39714

    -so it seems that as long as it's straight 2D lines (Detail lines, Detail items) it will print, but not mixed with 3D geometry. So symbolic lines don't help.


    Ok, i'll give it a rest now. Workaround for now is to make a Curtain Wall Mullion Profile Family, that consists of two things: one piece of "real" geometry, a 40x40mm profile. Into the family is also loaded a detail item by the same dimensions ( Because you can't have two loops in a profile family). Spaced out in the family with the correct distance.
    That way we can show all mullions, but only half of them will be 3D geometry. The architects will probably like this, since Visualizations will have a "lighter" quality, but we still show the correct number of mullions on plan and details.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-17_11h26_31.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	6.2 KB 
ID:	39715
    It's a bit silly, but i've given up on this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-11-17_10h38_26.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	16.4 KB 
ID:	39713  
    Last edited by tuekappel; November 17th, 2020 at 11:56 PM.

  6.    #6
    Member scourdx's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    88
    Current Local Time
    11:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Interesting. I never seen these issue before. I tried with railing and it seems to show up at larger scale. Once it hits 1:1000, all you see is black blotch.

    Scale differently.pdf

  7.    #7
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    343
    Current Local Time
    08:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by scourdx View Post
    Interesting. I never seen these issue before. I tried with railing and it seems to show up at larger scale. Once it hits 1:1000, all you see is black blotch.

    Scale differently.pdf
    you'll need to make both dimensions less than 0.254mm in print to replicate the problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Room bounding objects smaller than 300mm
    By mhug9 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 19th, 2020, 04:45 PM
  2. Error "No circuit errors found" when deleting objects
    By alnjxn in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2013, 04:47 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 13th, 2013, 12:15 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 12th, 2011, 07:50 PM
  5. "No Level" objects from Revit?
    By cliff collins in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 30th, 2011, 07:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •