Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: What's your preferred monitor setup?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2019
    Posts
    22
    Current Local Time
    05:44 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    What's your preferred monitor setup?

    I've never put much thought into my monitors, I have a 15" laptop with a 22" monitor and initially thought I'd just get a second 22" monitor to replace using the laptop screen, but there's lots of option.

    • 23"? 27"?
    • 1080? 1440?
    • ultra wide?

  2. #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,479
    Current Local Time
    04:44 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Opinions vary on this, and youll find members here work on a number of different configurations.

    I currently work on (3) 27" 2560x1440's, and its my preferred setup over just about anything else. I dont even tend to rip stuff outside of Revit to secondary screens (besides the occasional view, or Dynamo (which i open on a different screen almost always). But ill have Revit front and Center, Bluebeam or Source Material or another Revit session on the right monitor, and Comm's/notes/etc on the left monitor. Notes and to-do apps overlap with the contents on the right monitor, email/teams/chat/slack overlap with the items on the left monitor.

    When i need multiple sessions opened, the second goes on the right, the third goes on the left.

    EDIT: Since we are doing pictures... Well that picture is being weird... (So, Brave Browser says these pictures are upside down, but they arent when viewed on my computer. So thats odd, but i give up.)

    EDIT EDIT: Recent additions to the desk: Rode Procaster mic on a Rode boom, that comes down right between two monitors. Focusrite 4i4 Controller, and Beyerdynamics DT 770 Pros, for Monitoring, while making training videos.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200621_155959.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	988.5 KB 
ID:	39807   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PXL_20201019_032350526.NIGHT.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	776.5 KB 
ID:	39806   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200606_202514.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	993.1 KB 
ID:	39808  
    Last edited by Twiceroadsfool; December 16th, 2020 at 03:14 PM.

  3. #3
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,809
    Current Local Time
    11:44 AM

    4 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    3x 27", 2560x1440 for me as well. Don't really have a fixed position of all the windows other then the Revit main window in the middle and 2 pallets (project browser and properties) on the left side of the right one. The other real estate is taken up by anything else, depending on what I'm doing.

    It also is good to watch 3 streams at the same time of the Starship launch last week as you can see

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Eo0yzVwXMAAPith.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	226.7 KB 
ID:	39804
    Last edited by Robin Deurloo; December 16th, 2020 at 03:10 PM.

  4. #4
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    10:44 AM

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I never used to like more than a single monitor for Revit but now with Enscape and Lumion a 2nd monitor became inevitable (31" for Revit and 27" for the others). Site survey photos and other documents I keep on another 27" Eizo monitor to my right and comms stuff on the far right.

    Some of the monitors are connected to both a dual graphic card PC (for Revit and Lumion/Enscape) and a Mac Pro so I can switch them around a little if needed.

    Being a worrier I also have a backup PC connected to the Revit monitors.


  5. #5
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,600
    Current Local Time
    02:44 AM

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    before retirement it was (3) 27" 2560x1440's for me also. Now that one wall of my office is taken up by a 65" LG OLED TV which reduced my desktop space I've retired one of my Dell 27" monitors. I just play with Revit these days

  6. #6
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,455
    Current Local Time
    04:44 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Whatever you're going to do, keep all the monitors the same size and resolution.
    Since WFH, I've only got my 17" laptop screen and a 27" monitor
    It's kind of a pain trying to move things from the big screen to the little one since things disappear off the bottom

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2019
    Posts
    22
    Current Local Time
    05:44 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    3x 27", 2560x1440 for me as well.
    3x 27" at 1440 seems to be a common choice here, why the 1440? I was worried the higher resolution might make some things too small and that 1080 might actually be better.
    Last edited by jbourne84; December 16th, 2020 at 06:38 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,809
    Current Local Time
    11:44 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have my display scale set to 125%, so that enlarges everything a bit and works great for me.
    They are also Dell monitors that got recommended by a lot of people, pretty sure Twiceroadsfool was one of them.

  9. #9
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,479
    Current Local Time
    04:44 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by jbourne84 View Post
    3x 27" at 1440 seems to be a common choice here, why the 1440? I was worried the higher resolution might make some things too small and that 1080 might actually be better.
    Thats actually exactly why i went 2560 x 1440 on 27's: Everything is pretty darn close to the same size as if i went 1080 on 24's, there is just more room on the screen.

    4k on 27's, i would have to rock a larger scaling, like Robin is. On the 2560x1440, i run scaling at 100%. TONS of room. But things arent tiny.

  10. #10
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,809
    Current Local Time
    11:44 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    4k on 27's, i would have to rock a larger scaling, like Robin is.
    I'm getting old and I might need to check my glasses

Similar Threads

  1. anyone using copy monitor on the Arch side to monitor structural walls?
    By Profoxcg in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 25th, 2019, 12:15 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2018, 06:15 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 20th, 2015, 09:15 PM
  4. Ivy Bridge setup
    By Megs in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2012, 03:57 AM
  5. Revit to Navisworks - Preferred file format and why
    By brenehan in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 10th, 2012, 10:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •