Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Edit Selections

  1. #1
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    10:10 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Edit Selections

    While I knew you could Save and Load Selections in recent versions of Revit I had not noticed that you can Edit these Selections.

    What a wonderful feature!
    You need to click Edit in the top level menu and then select a saved selection set in the dialog which appears, then click Edit next to the list of saved selections, whereupon non-selected objects are faded leaving you free to add or subtract from the Selection. Very neat

    I used to think that you had to select a couple of objects in order for the Save/Load/Edit options to appear in the top of screen panels but I now see that the commands are available in the Manage panel. I assigned a shortcut key pair to 'Save Selection' which saves a bit of time.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 14, 2012
    Location
    Where the plains meet the mountains
    Posts
    524
    Current Local Time
    03:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Very nice. It might still be easier/faster to access those options by selecting an object first, but nice to know it's there.

    (Actually, I just removed the ES keyboard shortcut from mechanical settings so the ES shortcut for Edit Selection works ... even faster for those that use keyboard shortcuts.)

  3. #3
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    10:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've found that setting a keyboard shortcut for 'Load Selection' and assigning it to a key on my X-keys device is probably the fastest and most useful way of accessing the features dialog.

  4. #4
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,474
    Current Local Time
    04:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I was always hoping that feature was going to evolve in to Search Sets, like Navisworks. Im pretty disappointed that it never did.

    Sure, there are 3rd party apps that emulate Search Sets, but thats another hassle for something thats DAMN convenient, in Navis.

  5. #5
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    10:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What are Search Sets Aaron? (Pardon my ignorance )

  6. #6
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,474
    Current Local Time
    04:10 PM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    They are a live search, based on data. So, in Navis we have this whole list created, based on Revit Data: When you click on one, it doesnt have the "list of elements" saved, it has the criterion saved, instead. It does a live search, on the fly.

    Basically, its VG: Filters, but in selectable Form. Like, you could click on a Filter and have all of those items suddenly selected.

    I have a Navis SS built for every Revit Filter we have in our Template (mostly). Makes manipulating things in Navis DAMN convenient.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-12-17_15-15-28.png 
Views:	35 
Size:	1.20 MB 
ID:	39813   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020-12-17_15-16-10.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	381.0 KB 
ID:	39814  

  7. #7
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,126
    Current Local Time
    10:10 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Aaron - very impressive

    (and I thought hunting around for rafters in a single house model was tedious... )

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    287
    Current Local Time
    04:10 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    They are a live search, based on data. So, in Navis we have this whole list created, based on Revit Data: When you click on one, it doesnt have the "list of elements" saved, it has the criterion saved, instead. It does a live search, on the fly.

    Basically, its VG: Filters, but in selectable Form. Like, you could click on a Filter and have all of those items suddenly selected.

    I have a Navis SS built for every Revit Filter we have in our Template (mostly). Makes manipulating things in Navis DAMN convenient.
    I found something close to this in the "OneFilter" DiRoots plugin. It allows you to have a palette with a list of Revit filters and saved selection sets and use them to select elements in the active view.

  9. #9
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,474
    Current Local Time
    04:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Nurlan View Post
    I found something close to this in the "OneFilter" DiRoots plugin. It allows you to have a palette with a list of Revit filters and saved selection sets and use them to select elements in the active view.
    Yeah. OneFilter has been on my "check this out soon" list for a while. Glad to hear it works the same way!

Similar Threads

  1. RTC: Final Selections
    By RTC in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 5th, 2017, 07:16 PM
  2. Selective Selections with Titleblocks
    By mdomer in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 14th, 2016, 10:32 PM
  3. Keyplan - Zone selections
    By Harry_Hrissis in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 4th, 2015, 05:54 AM
  4. Rotate Selections Box
    By RevitMinded in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 17th, 2011, 05:18 PM
  5. Groupes et slections
    By jbenoit44 in forum Forum Franais
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 17th, 2011, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •