Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can Dynamo make changes to closed documents?

  1.    #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 15, 2017
    Posts
    73
    Current Local Time
    08:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Can Dynamo make changes to closed documents?

    I'm working on something to export DWG and IFC files from a project without manually opening it. We're about to start a project which will have 10 different .rvt files and I'm trying to speed up the export process. Everything works except when I realised I also have to change the view template for some of the views being exported to DWG. I get an error which I think means I'm not allowed to do that without making it the active document (opening it). But I wanted to ask first if this is the case before I abandon this.

    Warning:
    "Warning: Element.SetParameterByName operation failed. Attempt to modify the model outside of transaction."

    Dynamo:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EXPORT_2021-01-08_05-37-01.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	349.5 KB 
ID:	39911

    It's a bit messy but everything works except the view template part which is at the bottom.

  2.    #2
    Member
    Join Date
    November 4, 2012
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    162
    Current Local Time
    08:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can use RevitBatchProcessor to run a dynamo script on multiple files: https://github.com/bvn-architecture/RevitBatchProcessor
    It will open all models one by one, run the script and close it.

  3.    #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 15, 2017
    Posts
    73
    Current Local Time
    08:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by infeeeee View Post
    You can use RevitBatchProcessor to run a dynamo script on multiple files: https://github.com/bvn-architecture/RevitBatchProcessor
    It will open all models one by one, run the script and close it.
    That's awesome, thank you!

  4.    #4
    Member kraftwerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    104
    Current Local Time
    01:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    To answer your direct question, yes Dynamo can do this. You would have to run Dynamo Sandbox compared to Dynamo Revit. This allows Dynamo to sit outside of Revit, open the Revit application, open the Revit document, do some action, and then close the document, then rinse and repeat.

    While it is possible, I do agree that RBP is a much cleaner solution. And I believe you can select a .DYN file to use as the action on the document.

  5.    #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 15, 2017
    Posts
    73
    Current Local Time
    08:50 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by kraftwerk View Post
    To answer your direct question, yes Dynamo can do this. You would have to run Dynamo Sandbox compared to Dynamo Revit. This allows Dynamo to sit outside of Revit, open the Revit application, open the Revit document, do some action, and then close the document, then rinse and repeat.

    While it is possible, I do agree that RBP is a much cleaner solution. And I believe you can select a .DYN file to use as the action on the document.
    Revit Batch Processor is actually really neat. Couldn't quite figure out a working script for this particular issue, tricky to get the sequence of execution correct. But I can think of a number of great uses for it.

Similar Threads

  1. Construction Documents - Coordination of Finishes
    By Juniper01 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 31st, 2017, 05:56 PM
  2. Open Help Documents from dynamo.
    By swapr78 in forum Dynamo BIM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 21st, 2016, 02:01 PM
  3. need help to make something in dynamo
    By othman in forum Dynamo BIM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 9th, 2016, 11:09 PM
  4. Text Documents
    By Josh in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 10th, 2012, 01:33 PM
  5. Manage documents (PLM) for AEC
    By PepaR in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 20th, 2011, 12:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •