Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How Do You Normally Start a Project?

1.    #1
    Current Local Time
    03:10 AM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

How Do You Normally Start a Project?

Hi,

I am an extreme novice about to make the transition from CAD to Revit (have taken a few introductory courses and halfway through the Autodesk Revit Architecture book).

However, I'm still confused as to how architects normally start a project in Revit, as in what is the typical work flow?

With CAD, what I normally do is, I start with a rough hand sketch of the plan (gridlines, main spaces, etc.) and draw them and play around with the design on CAD (all 2D). If I need to produce a quick 3D model, I'd import the CAD plans to Sketchup and trace them to build the model.

Is this how you would use Revit? My courses and the book all take us step-by-step through a pre-determined building design, and it seems to me you have to already have most of your building design completed before starting a Revit project.

I guess what I'd like to know are:

1. What is your typical work flow when starting a BIM model using Revit? (Appreciate if you can share your workflow from start to finish i.e. up to the printing of the drawings).
    2. Is there a way to import a CAD plan to Revit for tracing (much like how I do it with Sketchup)?

Thank you in advance!

2.    #2
    Current Local Time

First off, welcome to the forum!

Second, quick answers to your questions.

1. much the same as the one you've described - up until the word CAD
    2. yes, but there's little value and a fair amount of risk

Now to the meat of the matter:
    Quote Originally Posted by Rush_Bijoux View Post
    Appreciate if you can share your workflow from start to finish i.e. up to the printing of the drawings
    Let's be straight - I don't think that's going to happen - but more because almost all jobs demand different conditions - and as much as we'd like, nothing is as linear as we might hope.