Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Splitting a model

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    212
    Current Local Time
    04:01 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Splitting a model

    We currently have a large facade model which due to some rather over enthusiastic use of detailing (damn you CAD users who think Revit is like autocad!!) has got rather over-sized. I'm looking at splitting out the sheets that are causing the damage into a separate model. Are there any inherent issues with this that I'm missing before i go ahead?

  2. #2
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,243
    Current Local Time
    08:01 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Don't do it. Separating "sheets" from the model is antithetical to Revit.

  3. #3
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,674
    Current Local Time
    10:01 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Don't do it. Separating "sheets" from the model is antithetical to Revit.
    This. Awful idea. Just don't. Who cares if the file is big?

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    308
    Current Local Time
    03:01 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have splitted a very big model (milk plant) in sheets and 3d model, but that was because in that model there were multiple projects and the model would be altered the next 10-20-30-40 years with new projects every year.

    I would not recommend it for a normal project, it takes up a lot of extra time to make sheets in 1 model and 3d in another model.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    212
    Current Local Time
    04:01 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Don't do it. Separating "sheets" from the model is antithetical to Revit.
    just to be clear, there is no model information on these sheets, simply drafting work.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    212
    Current Local Time
    04:01 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Who cares if the file is big?
    We have file size limits written into the BEP

  7. #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,674
    Current Local Time
    10:01 PM

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Then it's an awful BEP that's not adding value and is only creating senseless busywork. Seriously.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,243
    Current Local Time
    08:01 PM

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Splitting a model because of file size is like asking your cat how good your model is...sigh

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    212
    Current Local Time
    04:01 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Splitting a model because of file size is like asking your cat how good your model is...sigh

    not really, otherwise the M&E engineers would just issue 1 model that is 4.5Gb in size, the facade guys would do the same and it would just be unworkable in Revit. It's quite common in the UK to ask people to limit sizes on large projects so that other design team members are able to use the models and keep their own running at a decent speed.

  10. #10
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,917
    Current Local Time
    05:01 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by robp View Post
    not really, otherwise the M&E engineers would just issue 1 model that is 4.5Gb in size, the facade guys would do the same and it would just be unworkable in Revit. It's quite common in the UK to ask people to limit sizes on large projects so that other design team members are able to use the models and keep their own running at a decent speed.
    To me you should not limit the file size but how detailed your file is.
    No need to get a model with all the nuts and bolts from the facade guys.

Similar Threads

  1. Splitting A Model
    By elizabeth_joseph8 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 12th, 2020, 08:11 PM
  2. Splitting up a model
    By Alex Cunningham in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 8th, 2018, 02:41 AM
  3. Splitting out furniture into a separate model
    By jerence in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 27th, 2016, 08:05 PM
  4. Splitting a model into several models
    By Jozi in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: July 13th, 2015, 03:53 PM
  5. Model management for campus site - splitting up a model.
    By macroen in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 6th, 2012, 12:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •