Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Wrong shadows in the perspective view with Revit 2021

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Wrong shadows in the perspective view with Revit 2021

    Hi,
    Help! All the shadows come out wrong in the perspective views. I donĺt know why. I'm desperate! In the plans the windows are ok, they aren't on different planes. I use a Surface 6 Pro 16 GB RAM with integrated graphic card.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	33D09B4E-136F-45DC-8154-F9C8B7AE19D3.jpeg 
Views:	29 
Size:	262.9 KB 
ID:	40104Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F8423441-05B9-4529-B8FC-E625AF64BD02.jpeg 
Views:	19 
Size:	80.6 KB 
ID:	40105

  2. #2
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,578
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    First off, welcome Francisca.

    (I've deleted your other thread where your attached pics weren't previewing)



    Yeah, something is definitely not right there! But afraid the only real option when Revit gets this confused is make the view anew (never fun with a perspective view you might have employed before)

    Before you do (delete this one) do any other views do it? have you tried cycling your view settings to "jog" it behaving properly?
    Last edited by snowyweston; February 23rd, 2021 at 09:34 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have tried and tried, but the result doesn’t change

  4. #4
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,578
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What have you tried?

    Specifics will help us diagnose. Screenshots (of settings) more the better.

    Mind, if you've always got to ask whether all this time (wasted) is worth it? Or does a new view (or others) corrupt equally? Because that might suggest other, higher, issues (graphics driver etc)


    For example, do shadows in axo views look okay?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yes, shadows in axo views are ok. Perspective views are altered. I have never succeeded in generating correct perspective shadows

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I’m sending you a screenshot
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7FEAEF9E-818E-49E7-9694-F96BB8C3002E.jpeg 
Views:	23 
Size:	416.7 KB 
ID:	40107Click image for larger version. 

Name:	556BB765-9D88-49B4-99D6-9DEB9CC8D125.jpeg 
Views:	16 
Size:	508.6 KB 
ID:	40108
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CDA3EE75-7656-4909-BC0B-522096CA2941.jpeg  

  7. #7
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,578
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    okay I think I've got it - the settings in first screenshot all look (my italian's rusty) - but the view preview in the samr image appears to show what looks like cad...?

    Weird as it sounds, hatch fills in 2D cad can cast shadows - and along with their general impact on performance (generally no-thanks to their over-large model space extents) the result effect can be, as you've observerd, quite horrible.

    One, remove (hide, turn off or better unload) from view/model... then
    two, go the extra and shrink your model space extent with a section box and/or reduce your draw distance.

    If it's not CAD (?) then even more a mystery.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I’ve removed 2Dcad and shrunk my model space extent with a section box, but the result is the same

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    322
    Current Local Time
    04:36 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    @Francisca, сan you copy one or two corner facade walls with windows into an empty project and post it here? Let's check if the same will happen on other computers.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    11:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I’ve already tried on other computers and nothing happens

Similar Threads

  1. How long does it take to install Revit 2021 with the 2021.1.2 hotfix?
    By Markus in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 7th, 2021, 12:01 AM
  2. Revit 2021.1.1 - Topo Viewrange cutoff in plan View
    By willsud in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2020, 10:40 AM
  3. Interior Perspective views not showing sun and shadows.
    By ndog in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 11th, 2020, 09:45 PM
  4. [Revit 2021] What is the wrong with the material Browser?
    By Nsync in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 14th, 2020, 05:44 PM
  5. Revit 2019 - Perspective 3D View / Depth of View Printing Issue
    By Jj Mac in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 16th, 2018, 05:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •