Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Wrong shadows in the perspective view with Revit 2021

  1.    #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    07:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    https://politecnicobari-my.sharepoin...XXagw?e=7MNgYd

    File needs to be downloaded from the link. It's too big.

  2.    #22
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,559
    Current Local Time
    12:33 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So... good news and bad news.

    First, the good news: It isnt your computer.

    Then, the bad news: Something in that view (Vista 3d 11) is broken, and the shadows look nonsensical.

    But: As was mentioned earlier in the thread, making a new view DOES seem to fix the issue, here.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2021-02-25_14-43-02.png   2021-02-25_14-42-31.png  

  3.    #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    07:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you for your help. Unfortunately the shadows are not all good, but they are certainly better.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	revit eu finestre errate.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	322.3 KB 
ID:	40120

  4.    #24
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,834
    Current Local Time
    07:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    OK was interested in your issue as well and the very first thing that I noticed is that it is not the fastest model, for what kind of model it is.
    I also get the wonkey shadows, so as Aaron says, not your hardware it seems.

    One thing that could be part of the issue is that there are 10398 Warnings in your model, with about 2000 walls overlapping and about 8000 identical instances in the same place.
    Not a 100% sure, but lets say 95% sure that this is causing all sorts of problems.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	warnings.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	78.0 KB 
ID:	40121

    Looks like there are A LOT of curtain walls that are duplicated in the same place, which I guess happened with groups in groups that you arrayed and those you arrayed again.


    Then there are the levels in the 3D view, I have never seen those in that weird way, where they seem to be all over the place
    Last edited by Robin Deurloo; Yesterday at 11:42 PM.

  5.    #25
    Member
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    263
    Current Local Time
    10:33 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    there are 10398 Warnings in your model.....
    and to think i get on folks cases when they have 1,000 warnings. It'll take a week to clean out that model.

  6.    #26
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,559
    Current Local Time
    12:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    OK was interested in your issue as well and the very first thing that I noticed is that it is not the fastest model, for what kind of model it is.
    I also get the wonkey shadows, so as Aaron says, not your hardware it seems.

    One thing that could be part of the issue is that there are 10398 Warnings in your model, with about 2000 walls overlapping and about 8000 identical instances in the same place.
    Not a 100% sure, but lets say 95% sure that this is causing all sorts of problems.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	warnings.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	78.0 KB 
ID:	40121

    Looks like there are A LOT of curtain walls that are duplicated in the same place, which I guess happened with groups in groups that you arrayed and those you arrayed again.


    Then there are the levels in the 3D view, I have never seen those in that weird way, where they seem to be all over the place
    Yeah. I didn't really want to pick on them, but the model is a freaking wreck. The warnings. The CAD. The 3d extents of the levels.

    There is... A lot to fix.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  7.    #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 23, 2021
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    07:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    if I knew what kind of warnings they are I’d try to eliminate them quickly. In the file I’m currently using I’ve cancelled the “ options design” , I have put the levels near the model and cancelled some levels.Perhaps the levels are part of the issue?




    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    OK was interested in your issue as well and the very first thing that I noticed is that it is not the fastest model, for what kind of model it is.
    I also get the wonkey shadows, so as Aaron says, not your hardware it seems.

    One thing that could be part of the issue is that there are 10398 Warnings in your model, with about 2000 walls overlapping and about 8000 identical instances in the same place.
    Not a 100% sure, but lets say 95% sure that this is causing all sorts of problems.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	warnings.JPG 
Views:	11 
Size:	78.0 KB 
ID:	40121

    Looks like there are A LOT of curtain walls that are duplicated in the same place, which I guess happened with groups in groups that you arrayed and those you arrayed again.


    Then there are the levels in the 3D view, I have never seen those in that weird way, where they seem to be all over the place

  8.    #28
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,834
    Current Local Time
    07:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I think the levels are part of the issue yes, but not only the issue.

    Look at the windows (Curtain Walls) you have, there are a lot that are placed double, so 2 in the same location.
    With all of them having 9 or 10 elements each (all the mullions and the glass) the warning add up quickly.

    I would also look at all the groups and arrays for all those windows. Groups are great, but you have groups in arrays and made arrays from those arrays again, at some point it is to much.

    I also saw that sometimes (not all the time) you have both an Wall Opening and a Curtain Wall to make a windows. Those Wall Openings are not needed as a CW will cut into your wall, so this results again in extra 'stuff' Revit needs to think about.

    The last thing I would do is change the railing in front of every window to a simple Generic Model. Pretty sure that is much easier on Revit and on yourself.


    Normally this all should not really be an issue, but with the problems you have and the hardware you use, every little bit helps.

Similar Threads

  1. How long does it take to install Revit 2021 with the 2021.1.2 hotfix?
    By Markus in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 7th, 2021, 01:01 AM
  2. Revit 2021.1.1 - Topo Viewrange cutoff in plan View
    By willsud in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2020, 11:40 AM
  3. Interior Perspective views not showing sun and shadows.
    By ndog in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 11th, 2020, 10:45 PM
  4. [Revit 2021] What is the wrong with the material Browser?
    By Nsync in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 14th, 2020, 06:44 PM
  5. Revit 2019 - Perspective 3D View / Depth of View Printing Issue
    By Jj Mac in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 16th, 2018, 06:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •