Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Type Catalog Visability Parameter

  1. #1
    Member Gabriel Black's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 6, 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    203
    Current Local Time
    04:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Type Catalog Visability Parameter

    Is there a way to control a yes/no parameter with a Type Catalog? What syntax would I use to control it?
    I've been trying the following options:
    ,Show 1 Fan##other##
    VAC1121-400,yes

    ,Show 1 Fan##other##
    VAC1121-400,on

    ,Show 1 Fan##other##
    VAC1121-400,off

    just to try and get a handle on it but it's not working.

    Help please?

  2. #2
    Member Gabriel Black's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 6, 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    203
    Current Local Time
    04:57 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Doh! Got it. It's a tick and maths talk for yes or no is 1 or 0.
    It goes like this:
    ,Show 1 Fan##other##
    VAC1121-400,1 (for show it) or VAC1211-400,0 (for don't show it)

    Ciao for now.

  3. #3
    Forum Addict gdoherty0102's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,155
    Current Local Time
    07:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I find that using 1 and 0 working for this to be odd. I was trying to put a toggle in a family that is forced on and does not have the ability to uncheck and when I put 0 or 1 in the formula column it did not like it.

    I ended up using text and forcing the text to a particular thing, but I really would have thought I could do that with the Yes/no as well. Any ideas?

  4. #4
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,231
    Current Local Time
    09:57 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you want to set the value of a Yes/No parameter in a family with a formula, you need to type something that evaluates to True or False. Just a 1 or a 0 does not evaluate as true or false. Type something such as 1 > 0, or 0 < 1, or the name of another Yes/No parameter.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating Type Catalog's
    By NLG in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 5th, 2011, 02:21 PM
  2. Revit OpEd: Dept. of Echo - Type Catalog Formatting
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 27th, 2011, 06:42 PM
  3. Area Type parameter
    By gaby424 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 8th, 2011, 12:46 PM
  4. Parameter that works as a Type, not as an Instance
    By Stuntmonkee in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 16th, 2011, 03:59 PM
  5. Type parameter in a titleblock field
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 7th, 2011, 08:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •