Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: overriding / overmarking single cells in schedule

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    175
    Current Local Time
    09:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    overriding / overmarking single cells in schedule

    Further to my previous door schedule query (superbly answered by chris )

    https://www.revitforum.org/architect...it-levels.html

    I now have a 2nd problem, we have some "specialist doors" such as doors to HV rooms, fully glazed doors, overclad doors etc, all of which will be by a specialist sub-con and as such we dont want to give any data in the schedule relating to frame thickness, door leaf size etc which we do with all "normal" internal doorsets.

    Is there a way to simply "mask" some cells on a sheet with a colour (or even just blanked out) and add some text to say something along the lines of "to specialist sub-con details"

  2. #2
    Junior Member TomekTomek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2016
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    08:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Have you tried this?

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bez tytu?u.png 
Views:	320 
Size:	223.3 KB 
ID:	32714  

  3. #3
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,822
    Current Local Time
    01:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yikes.

    I think changing the door families so they use different parameters would be a better option but if the solid black redaction suits you go for it!

  4. #4
    Junior Member TomekTomek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2016
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    08:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Revit can't handle both strings and numbers so you can't override values with text.
    Or this

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bez tytu?u.png 
Views:	292 
Size:	281.4 KB 
ID:	32719  
    Last edited by TomekTomek; January 26th, 2018 at 06:14 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    175
    Current Local Time
    09:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by GMcDowellJr View Post
    I think changing the door families so they use different parameters would be a better option but if the solid black redaction suits you go for it!
    The solid black isnt a help as i need to write text over the cells. I'm not sure changing the door families is a viable option as it will involve a massive amount of work to reapply all the existing parameters to new names to get them to work. However as a last resort we may look at it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    175
    Current Local Time
    09:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by TomekTomek View Post
    Revit can't handle both strings and numbers so you can't override values with text.
    i appreciate this which is why i was asking for ways of hiding cells in the sheet files rather than in the actual schedule.

  7. #7
    Junior Member TomekTomek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2016
    Posts
    18
    Current Local Time
    08:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can also use Dynamo
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bez tytu?u.png 
Views:	282 
Size:	1.08 MB 
ID:	32723  

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    175
    Current Local Time
    09:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    i wish i could use dynamo!!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    175
    Current Local Time
    09:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by GMcDowellJr View Post
    I think changing the door families so they use different parameters would be a better option but if the solid black redaction suits you go for it!
    i ended up doing it this way and changing the parameters to family parameters as opposed to shared parameters. it's unfortunately doubled up on some doors but im hoping that we can substitute these out IF (and that's a big if) we get sub-contractors with BIM capability on board.

  10. #10
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,822
    Current Local Time
    01:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by robp View Post
    i wish i could use dynamo!!
    Why cant you?

    I wouldnt have used or for this since it would mean that all of your scheduled parsley would be strings and wouldn't update without running the graph. That's necessary occasionally but not here.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Door Schedule - creating a formula for instance frame style overriding
    By lhudson in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 18th, 2017, 08:07 PM
  2. Editing and Merging Panel Schedule Cells
    By Lkenshalo in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 18th, 2015, 05:36 PM
  3. assign a value to selected cells in schedule
    By JiaQing in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 12th, 2015, 10:05 AM
  4. Single pole - single phase panel schedule
    By jmlarias in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 13th, 2014, 06:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •