Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wall- Storey by storey or Multi-level

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    195
    Current Local Time
    08:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Wall- Storey by storey or Multi-level

    I've currently joined new office where they are using a multi-storey apartment building to test out revit. Their approach is to construct the model storey by storey and group each storey and copy above. My view was it was always better to use walls as continuous elements ie lift/core walls run all the way through. Their argument is that the model can then be analysised by navis works storey by storey later.
    What people view on this?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    12:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It all depends on what you need it for.
    First off: the NW-argument is bullocks. NW is perfectly capable of selecting elements on a certain level. Just create the proper selection sects for your analysis/clash control
    Second: if your building has repeating levels, why not use links?
    Third: If you need it for construction sequences and such it's somewhat different. In a Pre-Parts era I would agree with their line of reasoning since there was no way to "cut up" the model. Parts made this better, but to my belief RAC2012 didn't allow the export of Parts to NW correctly. This problem is supposedly solved in 2013. (or was this the IFC export? Cliff??)

  3. #3
    Member Geert's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8, 2011
    Location
    Les Vigneaux, Hautes Alpes, France
    Posts
    188
    Current Local Time
    02:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    estimaters want storey by storey. for a modeller it is easier to model them al the way to the top. You dont want to see al the seams eighter.
    You can always use the slice tool in section to cut the walls up later though.

    Geert
    Last edited by Geert; May 10th, 2012 at 10:11 AM. Reason: confused split and section

  4. #4
    Member feio's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Decadent Lisbon
    Posts
    450
    Current Local Time
    12:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I usually also have those kind of doubts, and beside the ability to schedule, the control of how each element is modeled is also important, as weel as it's relations with other elements. In the case of external walls, I sometimes have the internal part split by levels and the actual shell in full height.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdradvies View Post
    the NW-argument is bullocks.
    And so is Sandra, Martijn, so is Sandra!

  5. #5
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    12:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by feio View Post
    And so is Sandra, Martijn, so is Sandra!
    Now I know how Alex feels with everybody complaining about each spelling error one makes...

  6. #6
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    07:42 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Nah, you'll never be beat upon like we beat Alex.

    Damn, that's what his user title should be:

    RFo Whipping Boy


  7. #7
    Member renogreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 27, 2011
    Location
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    337
    Current Local Time
    05:42 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We always attempt to model it the way it will be built.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    12:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by renogreen View Post
    We always attempt to model it the way it will be built.
    I used to say this too... Until someone replied to me "brick by brick?"

    You'll never model it how it's going to be built. What you need to do is model it in a way which best encompasses the way it will be built and most important: the information you will need to extract from your model. And that's an entirely different thing...
    Last edited by mdradvies; May 10th, 2012 at 09:55 PM. Reason: frantically correcting spelling errors so nobody will pick on me...

  9. #9
    Member renogreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 27, 2011
    Location
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    337
    Current Local Time
    05:42 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I used to say this too... Until someone replied to me "brick by brick?"
    That's not how I meant it. That's taking things too literally. For the question as was asked by the OP your comment about brick by brick does not pertain.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    12:42 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I understand that this is an oversimplification. That was the whole idea.
    No offense meant, but saying "we model as built" is an oversimplification too. It's not that easy. Extreme examples:

    Say you're doing a residential project. Simple extention of a home. Are you going to model the existing home as built?
    Say you're doing a gazillion dollar project. But you're only hired to take it to definitive design. With the explicit notification that from that point the GC is taking over and remodelling the entire thing. Are you going to model the thing as built?

    Again: not meant to put you down in any way. But it's a statement that is oversimplifying it too. Imho the OP didn't give enough information to make it like that.
    What if the only NW analysis is a geometrical clash control? Or a space requirement check? That doesn't need a model-as-built approach.
    Last edited by mdradvies; May 10th, 2012 at 10:18 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Curtain Wall Door - Level in Schedule
    By LKeyser in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: June 18th, 2019, 04:42 AM
  2. Curtain Wall Door reporting incorrect level
    By rkitect in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2018, 05:11 PM
  3. 30 Storey Building Constructed In 15 Days!
    By Munkholm in forum Out There
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 10th, 2012, 07:58 PM
  4. Multi-level sitework / grading
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 16th, 2011, 07:47 PM
  5. Wall surface Patterns on Level Below
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2011, 09:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •